Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

How the Acoustical Environment May Alter Handicap

 
Author(s) Murray Hodgson, PhD
Volume 18
Number 4
Year 1994
Page(s) 220-222
Language English
Category
Keywords disability
hearing
acoustical
environment
Abstract All human activities take place in an acoustical (or sound) environment. The characteristics of the environment have a direct impact on people and their activities. If the acoustical environment is not optimal, the impact will be detrimental to people with normal hearing, but all the more so to the hard of hearing. A non-optimal acoustical environment reduces the hearing accessibility of the world, increases handicap, and leads to the social discrimination of the hard of hearing. This article reviews ways in which the acoustical environment affects people in their everyday activities. Topics include the relevant characteristics of acoustical environments, the auditory functions impacted, and how these functions are affected by hearing loss. Examples are given of environments and activities, and the problems that non-optimal environments can cause.


Toutes les activités humaines ont lieu dans un environnement acoustique (sonore). Les caractéristiques de l'environnement ont un impact direct sur les gens et leurs activités. Un environnement acoustique non-optimal aura des conséquences négatives sur les gens avec une audition normale, et d'autant plus sur les personnes malentendantes. Il réduit l'accessibilité au monde sonore, augmente le handicap et fait en sorte que les personnes malentendantes subissent une discrimination effective. Cette présentation fait le tour de cette question. Les sujets à être abordés incluent les caractéristiques pertinentes des environnements acoustiques, les fonctions auditives affectées et comment ces fonctions peuvent être affectées par une perte d'audition. Des exemples seront donnés d'environnements et d'activités ainsi que les problèmes qu'un environnement non-optimal peuvent causer.
Record ID 244
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Hodgson_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

How the Acoustical Environment May Alter Handicap

 
Auteur(s) Murray Hodgson, PhD
Volume 18
Nombre 4
Année 1994
Page(s) 220-222
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés disability
hearing
acoustical
environment
Abrégé All human activities take place in an acoustical (or sound) environment. The characteristics of the environment have a direct impact on people and their activities. If the acoustical environment is not optimal, the impact will be detrimental to people with normal hearing, but all the more so to the hard of hearing. A non-optimal acoustical environment reduces the hearing accessibility of the world, increases handicap, and leads to the social discrimination of the hard of hearing. This article reviews ways in which the acoustical environment affects people in their everyday activities. Topics include the relevant characteristics of acoustical environments, the auditory functions impacted, and how these functions are affected by hearing loss. Examples are given of environments and activities, and the problems that non-optimal environments can cause.


Toutes les activités humaines ont lieu dans un environnement acoustique (sonore). Les caractéristiques de l'environnement ont un impact direct sur les gens et leurs activités. Un environnement acoustique non-optimal aura des conséquences négatives sur les gens avec une audition normale, et d'autant plus sur les personnes malentendantes. Il réduit l'accessibilité au monde sonore, augmente le handicap et fait en sorte que les personnes malentendantes subissent une discrimination effective. Cette présentation fait le tour de cette question. Les sujets à être abordés incluent les caractéristiques pertinentes des environnements acoustiques, les fonctions auditives affectées et comment ces fonctions peuvent être affectées par une perte d'audition. Des exemples seront donnés d'environnements et d'activités ainsi que les problèmes qu'un environnement non-optimal peuvent causer.
ID 244
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Hodgson_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.