Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Nonstandard Dialect and Educational Achievement: Potential Implications for First Nations Students

 
Author(s) Patricia Hart Blundon
Volume 40
Number 3
Year 2016
Page(s) 218-231
Language English
Category Tutorial
Keywords nonstandard
dialect
First
Nations
English
Aboriginal
education
English
Second
ESD
Abstract Students who speak a nonstandard variety (e.g., nonstandard dialect) of a language are at a disadvantage in classrooms that promote the standard. The struggles faced by such students are well documented on a global scale. Differences in pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, and language use may be negatively related to school achievement. Teacher perspectives, inappropriate testing, and pedagogical strategies, can further negatively affect academic performance for students who speak nonstandard varieties. Canada is not immune to such issues. Indeed, they likely affect nonstandard speaking students in similar ways - in particular many First Nations students whose community language differs from the mainstream standard used in school. The intent of this article is to raise awareness about non-standard dialects and the challenges speakers, including many Canadian First Nations students, face in schools that promote the standard.

Les élèves qui parlent une variante non-standard d’une langue (p. ex. un dialecte non-standard) sont désavantagés dans une salle de classe faisant la promotion d’une langue standard. Les difficultés vécues par ces élèves sont bien documentées à l’échelle mondiale. Les différences sur le plan de la prononciation, de la grammaire, du vocabulaire et de l’utilisation du langage peuvent être négativement reliées au rendement scolaire. Le point de vue de l’enseignant, les évaluations inappropriées et les stratégies pédagogiques peuvent affecter négativement les performances scolaires des élèves qui parlent une variante non-standard d’une langue. Le Canada n’est pas à l’abri de ces problèmes. En effet, ceux-ci affectent probablement de façon semblable les élèves qui parlent une langue non-standard, particulièrement les nombreux élèves des Premières Nations dont la langue utilisée dans la communauté diffère de la langue dominante utilisée à l’école. Le but de cet article est de conscientiser le lecteur aux dialectes non-standards et aux défis auxquels les locuteurs, incluant les nombreux élèves des Premières Nations canadiennes, doivent faire face dans les écoles qui font la promotion d’une langue standard.
Record ID 1204
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2016_CJSLPA_Vol_40/No_03/CJSLPA_2016_Vol_40_No_3_Blundon_218-231.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Les dialectes non-standards et le rendement scolaire : les répercussions potentielles pour les élèves des Premières Nations

 
Auteur(s) Patricia Hart Blundon
Volume 40
Nombre 3
Année 2016
Page(s) 218-231
Langue Anglais
Catégorie Tutorial
Mots-clés nonstandard
dialect
First
Nations
English
Aboriginal
education
English
Second
ESD
Abrégé Students who speak a nonstandard variety (e.g., nonstandard dialect) of a language are at a disadvantage in classrooms that promote the standard. The struggles faced by such students are well documented on a global scale. Differences in pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, and language use may be negatively related to school achievement. Teacher perspectives, inappropriate testing, and pedagogical strategies, can further negatively affect academic performance for students who speak nonstandard varieties. Canada is not immune to such issues. Indeed, they likely affect nonstandard speaking students in similar ways - in particular many First Nations students whose community language differs from the mainstream standard used in school. The intent of this article is to raise awareness about non-standard dialects and the challenges speakers, including many Canadian First Nations students, face in schools that promote the standard.

Les élèves qui parlent une variante non-standard d’une langue (p. ex. un dialecte non-standard) sont désavantagés dans une salle de classe faisant la promotion d’une langue standard. Les difficultés vécues par ces élèves sont bien documentées à l’échelle mondiale. Les différences sur le plan de la prononciation, de la grammaire, du vocabulaire et de l’utilisation du langage peuvent être négativement reliées au rendement scolaire. Le point de vue de l’enseignant, les évaluations inappropriées et les stratégies pédagogiques peuvent affecter négativement les performances scolaires des élèves qui parlent une variante non-standard d’une langue. Le Canada n’est pas à l’abri de ces problèmes. En effet, ceux-ci affectent probablement de façon semblable les élèves qui parlent une langue non-standard, particulièrement les nombreux élèves des Premières Nations dont la langue utilisée dans la communauté diffère de la langue dominante utilisée à l’école. Le but de cet article est de conscientiser le lecteur aux dialectes non-standards et aux défis auxquels les locuteurs, incluant les nombreux élèves des Premières Nations canadiennes, doivent faire face dans les écoles qui font la promotion d’une langue standard.
ID 1204
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2016_CJSLPA_Vol_40/No_03/CJSLPA_2016_Vol_40_No_3_Blundon_218-231.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.