Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Roles of Speech-Language Pathologists and Nurses in Providing Communication Intervention for Nonspeaking Adults in Acute Care: A Regional Pilot Study

 
Author(s) Colleen Braun-Janzen
Leslie Sarchuk
Robert P. Murray
Volume 33
Number 1
Year 2009
Page(s) 5-23
Language English
Category
Keywords nonspeaking
acute
care
speech-language
pathology
nursing
augmentative
and
alternative
communication
survey
roles
practice
patterns
opinions
dysphagia
Abstract This study investigated current practice patterns and opinions of best practice standards of nurses and speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) regarding management of nonspeaking adult patients in acute care. Data was comprised of questionnaires completed by 85 nurses and 34 hospital-based acute care S-LPs. Nurse respondents reported that they frequently facilitate hands-on communication intervention for nonspeaking patients. Most nurses agreed that quality of care would be enhanced if S-LPs were more involved in facilitating communication for acute care patients. Forty-eight percent of S-LPs and 49% of nurses reported that at their facilities, less than half of nonspeaking patients are routinely referred to speech-language pathology (S-LP), whereas 94% of S-LPs and 66% of nurses felt that nonspeaking patients should be referred to S-LP most of the time. Results suggest that S-LPs are spending increasing amounts of time in the area of dysphagia management and relatively minimal amounts of time providing communication intervention.

La présente étude examine les formes de pratique actuelle et les opinions d’infirmières et d’orthophonistes sur les normes de pratique exemplaire touchant la prise en charge de patients adultes n’utilisant pas la communication orale en milieu de soins actifs. Les données proviennent de questionnaires remplis par 85 infirmières et 34 orthophonistes en milieu hospitalier de soins aigus. Les infirmières ont signalé qu’elles facilitaient souvent l’intervention pratique en communication pour ces patients. La plupart des infirmières convenaient que la qualité des soins serait améliorée si des orthophonistes jouaient un plus grand rôle pour faciliter la communication des patients en milieu de soins aigus. Quelque 48 % des orthophonistes et 49 % des infirmières ont signalé que dans leur établissement, moins de la moitié des patients n’utilisant pas la communication orale étaient régulièrement référés vers le service d’orthophonie, tandis que 94 % des orthophonistes et 66 % des infirmières étaient d’avis que ces personnes devraient l’être « la plupart du temps ». Les résultats suggèrent que les orthophonistes consacrent de plus en plus de temps à la prise en charge de la dysphagie et relativement peu de temps à la prestation de services d’intervention en communication.
Record ID 973
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2009_CJSLPA_Vol_33/No_01_1-76/Braun-Janzen_Sarchuk_Murray_CJSLPA_2009.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Roles of Speech-Language Pathologists and Nurses in Providing Communication Intervention for Nonspeaking Adults in Acute Care: A Regional Pilot Study

 
Auteur(s) Colleen Braun-Janzen
Leslie Sarchuk
Robert P. Murray
Volume 33
Nombre 1
Année 2009
Page(s) 5-23
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés nonspeaking
acute
care
speech-language
pathology
nursing
augmentative
and
alternative
communication
survey
roles
practice
patterns
opinions
dysphagia
Abrégé This study investigated current practice patterns and opinions of best practice standards of nurses and speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) regarding management of nonspeaking adult patients in acute care. Data was comprised of questionnaires completed by 85 nurses and 34 hospital-based acute care S-LPs. Nurse respondents reported that they frequently facilitate hands-on communication intervention for nonspeaking patients. Most nurses agreed that quality of care would be enhanced if S-LPs were more involved in facilitating communication for acute care patients. Forty-eight percent of S-LPs and 49% of nurses reported that at their facilities, less than half of nonspeaking patients are routinely referred to speech-language pathology (S-LP), whereas 94% of S-LPs and 66% of nurses felt that nonspeaking patients should be referred to S-LP most of the time. Results suggest that S-LPs are spending increasing amounts of time in the area of dysphagia management and relatively minimal amounts of time providing communication intervention.

La présente étude examine les formes de pratique actuelle et les opinions d’infirmières et d’orthophonistes sur les normes de pratique exemplaire touchant la prise en charge de patients adultes n’utilisant pas la communication orale en milieu de soins actifs. Les données proviennent de questionnaires remplis par 85 infirmières et 34 orthophonistes en milieu hospitalier de soins aigus. Les infirmières ont signalé qu’elles facilitaient souvent l’intervention pratique en communication pour ces patients. La plupart des infirmières convenaient que la qualité des soins serait améliorée si des orthophonistes jouaient un plus grand rôle pour faciliter la communication des patients en milieu de soins aigus. Quelque 48 % des orthophonistes et 49 % des infirmières ont signalé que dans leur établissement, moins de la moitié des patients n’utilisant pas la communication orale étaient régulièrement référés vers le service d’orthophonie, tandis que 94 % des orthophonistes et 66 % des infirmières étaient d’avis que ces personnes devraient l’être « la plupart du temps ». Les résultats suggèrent que les orthophonistes consacrent de plus en plus de temps à la prise en charge de la dysphagie et relativement peu de temps à la prestation de services d’intervention en communication.
ID 973
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2009_CJSLPA_Vol_33/No_01_1-76/Braun-Janzen_Sarchuk_Murray_CJSLPA_2009.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.