Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Language Learning in Four Bilingual Children with Down Syndrome: A Detailed Analysis of Vocabulary and Morphosyntax

 
Author(s) Krista Feltmate
Elizabeth Kay-Raining Bird
Volume 32
Number 1
Year 2008
Page(s) 6-20
Language English
Category
Keywords Down
syndrome
bilingual
language
development
disorders
Abstract Bilingualism in children with Down syndrome (DS) is an under-studied topic. Some professionals counsel families to restrict input to a single language for children with DS because there are delays present even when only one language is being learned. The purpose of the current study was to provide more information about the ability of children with DS to learn two languages. Such evidence is important for guiding clinical decisions. The morphosyntactic and vocabulary skills in English and French of four bilingual children with DS were analyzed and compared individually to that of a typically developing bilingual child and a monolingual child with DS. The children in each triad were matched on nonverbal mental age and exposure to a second language. While language delays were evidenced in both languages for the bilingual children with DS, no consistent effect of bilingualism was seen. All four bilingual children with DS were developing functional second language skills. Current input accounted for much of the variability in English versus French language skills. These findings provide families and professionals with information that will assist them in making appropriate decisions for children with DS.



Le bilinguisme chez les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down a fait l’objet de très peu d’études. Compte tenu du peu de données, certains professionnels conseillent aux familles de ne parler qu’une seule langue aux enfants trisomiques parce que ces derniers accusent un retard même s’ils apprennent seulement une langue. La présente étude vise à offrir de l’information sur la capacité des enfants trisomiques à apprendre deux langues. Ce genre d’information est important pour éclairer les décisions cliniques. Cette étude a permis d’analyser les habiletés en morphosyntaxe et au plan du vocabulaire de quatre enfants bilingues atteints du syndrome de Down et de les comparer chacune à celles d’un enfant bilingue au développement typique et d’un enfant trisomique monolingue. Les enfants de chaque triade ont été jumelés selon l’âge mental non verbal et l’exposition à une langue seconde. Bien que les enfants trisomiques bilingues accusent un retard linguistique dans les deux langues, cette étude n’a relevé aucun effet conséquent du bilinguisme. Les quatre enfants trisomiques bilingues ont tous acquis des habilités fonctionnelles dans leur langue seconde. L’intrant dans le processus d’acquisition de la langue seconde semble expliquer la majeure partie de la différence entre les compétences en anglais par opposition à celles en français. Ces résultats fournissent aux familles et aux professionnels de l’information qui les aidera à prendre des décisions adaptées pour les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down.
Record ID 953
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2008_CJSLPA_Vol_32/No_01_1-68/Feltmate_Kay-Raining_Bird_CJSLPA_2008.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Language Learning in Four Bilingual Children with Down Syndrome: A Detailed Analysis of Vocabulary and Morphosyntax

 
Auteur(s) Krista Feltmate
Elizabeth Kay-Raining Bird
Volume 32
Nombre 1
Année 2008
Page(s) 6-20
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés Down
syndrome
bilingual
language
development
disorders
Abrégé Bilingualism in children with Down syndrome (DS) is an under-studied topic. Some professionals counsel families to restrict input to a single language for children with DS because there are delays present even when only one language is being learned. The purpose of the current study was to provide more information about the ability of children with DS to learn two languages. Such evidence is important for guiding clinical decisions. The morphosyntactic and vocabulary skills in English and French of four bilingual children with DS were analyzed and compared individually to that of a typically developing bilingual child and a monolingual child with DS. The children in each triad were matched on nonverbal mental age and exposure to a second language. While language delays were evidenced in both languages for the bilingual children with DS, no consistent effect of bilingualism was seen. All four bilingual children with DS were developing functional second language skills. Current input accounted for much of the variability in English versus French language skills. These findings provide families and professionals with information that will assist them in making appropriate decisions for children with DS.



Le bilinguisme chez les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down a fait l’objet de très peu d’études. Compte tenu du peu de données, certains professionnels conseillent aux familles de ne parler qu’une seule langue aux enfants trisomiques parce que ces derniers accusent un retard même s’ils apprennent seulement une langue. La présente étude vise à offrir de l’information sur la capacité des enfants trisomiques à apprendre deux langues. Ce genre d’information est important pour éclairer les décisions cliniques. Cette étude a permis d’analyser les habiletés en morphosyntaxe et au plan du vocabulaire de quatre enfants bilingues atteints du syndrome de Down et de les comparer chacune à celles d’un enfant bilingue au développement typique et d’un enfant trisomique monolingue. Les enfants de chaque triade ont été jumelés selon l’âge mental non verbal et l’exposition à une langue seconde. Bien que les enfants trisomiques bilingues accusent un retard linguistique dans les deux langues, cette étude n’a relevé aucun effet conséquent du bilinguisme. Les quatre enfants trisomiques bilingues ont tous acquis des habilités fonctionnelles dans leur langue seconde. L’intrant dans le processus d’acquisition de la langue seconde semble expliquer la majeure partie de la différence entre les compétences en anglais par opposition à celles en français. Ces résultats fournissent aux familles et aux professionnels de l’information qui les aidera à prendre des décisions adaptées pour les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down.
ID 953
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2008_CJSLPA_Vol_32/No_01_1-68/Feltmate_Kay-Raining_Bird_CJSLPA_2008.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.