Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Service delivery for older Canadians with dementia : A survey of speech-language pathologists

 
Author(s) Tammy Hopper
Stuart Cleary
Mary Jo Donnelly
Shawna Dalton
Volume 31
Number 3
Year 2007
Page(s) 114-126
Language English
Category
Keywords dementia
service
delivery
communication
survey
speech-language
pathology
Alzheimer’s
disease
Abstract The purpose of this study was to survey speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) working in Canada, who identified themselves as providing services to older adults or adults with neurological communication and swallowing disorders, about their clinical perspectives and practice patterns in the area of dementia. Researchers designed a questionnaire-based survey specifically for this study and mailed it to 514 Canadian S-LPs.

Three hundred and four completed surveys were returned. Respondents reported on their caseload and work habits in the area of dementia and indicated their perspectives on dementia, including the role of S-LPs and perceived barriers to service delivery. Although respondents indicated positive opinions on the role of S-LPs with individuals who have dementia and the potential of affected individuals to benefit from certain interventions, they also reported barriers to providing assessment and intervention services. The results of the survey provide a foundation for future research in the area of S-LP services for individuals with dementia in Canada, as well as directions for education, training, and advocacy.

La présente de la présente étude visait à sonder l’opinion des orthophonistes travaillant au Canada ayant indiqué offrir des services aux personnes âgées ou aux adultes ayant des troubles de la communication d’origine neurologique et de la déglutition. Le sondage cherchait à recueillir leur point de vue clinique et leurs modèles de pratique dans le domaine de la démence. Les chercheurs ont élaboré un questionnaire spécialement pour cette étude et l’ont posté à 514 orthophonistes canadiens. Ils ont reçu 304 questionnaires complétés.

Les répondants ont indiqué leur charge de travail et leurs habitudes de travail dans le domaine de la démence et ont fait part de leur point de vue sur ce trouble, y compris le rôle de l’orthophoniste et les obstacles perçus entravant la prestation de services. Bien que les répondants aient indiqué des opinions positives concernant le rôle des orthophonistes auprès des personnes atteintes de démence et les capacités de ces dernières à bénéficier de certaines interventions, ils ont aussi signalé des obstacles entravant la prestation de services d’évaluation et d’intervention. Les résultats du sondage servent d’assises pour de futures recherches sur les services d’orthophonie offerts aux personnes atteintes de démence au Canada ainsi que sur les orientations pour l’éducation, la formation et la défense des intérêts.
Record ID 947
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2007_CJSLPA_Vol_31/No_03_109-160/Hopper_Cleary_CJSLPA_2007.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Service delivery for older Canadians with dementia : A survey of speech-language pathologists

 
Auteur(s) Tammy Hopper
Stuart Cleary
Mary Jo Donnelly
Shawna Dalton
Volume 31
Nombre 3
Année 2007
Page(s) 114-126
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés dementia
service
delivery
communication
survey
speech-language
pathology
Alzheimer’s
disease
Abrégé The purpose of this study was to survey speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) working in Canada, who identified themselves as providing services to older adults or adults with neurological communication and swallowing disorders, about their clinical perspectives and practice patterns in the area of dementia. Researchers designed a questionnaire-based survey specifically for this study and mailed it to 514 Canadian S-LPs.

Three hundred and four completed surveys were returned. Respondents reported on their caseload and work habits in the area of dementia and indicated their perspectives on dementia, including the role of S-LPs and perceived barriers to service delivery. Although respondents indicated positive opinions on the role of S-LPs with individuals who have dementia and the potential of affected individuals to benefit from certain interventions, they also reported barriers to providing assessment and intervention services. The results of the survey provide a foundation for future research in the area of S-LP services for individuals with dementia in Canada, as well as directions for education, training, and advocacy.

La présente de la présente étude visait à sonder l’opinion des orthophonistes travaillant au Canada ayant indiqué offrir des services aux personnes âgées ou aux adultes ayant des troubles de la communication d’origine neurologique et de la déglutition. Le sondage cherchait à recueillir leur point de vue clinique et leurs modèles de pratique dans le domaine de la démence. Les chercheurs ont élaboré un questionnaire spécialement pour cette étude et l’ont posté à 514 orthophonistes canadiens. Ils ont reçu 304 questionnaires complétés.

Les répondants ont indiqué leur charge de travail et leurs habitudes de travail dans le domaine de la démence et ont fait part de leur point de vue sur ce trouble, y compris le rôle de l’orthophoniste et les obstacles perçus entravant la prestation de services. Bien que les répondants aient indiqué des opinions positives concernant le rôle des orthophonistes auprès des personnes atteintes de démence et les capacités de ces dernières à bénéficier de certaines interventions, ils ont aussi signalé des obstacles entravant la prestation de services d’évaluation et d’intervention. Les résultats du sondage servent d’assises pour de futures recherches sur les services d’orthophonie offerts aux personnes atteintes de démence au Canada ainsi que sur les orientations pour l’éducation, la formation et la défense des intérêts.
ID 947
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2007_CJSLPA_Vol_31/No_03_109-160/Hopper_Cleary_CJSLPA_2007.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.