Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

A Comparison of the HINT and Quick SIN Tests

 
Author(s) Kathy R. Duncan
Nancy L. Aarts
Volume 30
Number 2
Year 2006
Page(s) 86-94
Language English
Category
Keywords Speech-in-noise
speech
understanding
intelligibility
Hearing
In
Noise
Test
Quick
adult
outcome
measure
Abstract Speech-in-noise measures are gaining relevance as audiologists understand the advantages of using outcome measures that demonstrate the need for and benefit from amplification. Two such speech-in-noise measures are the Hearing in Noise Test (HINT) and the Quick Speech-In-Noise (Quick SIN) test. This study was conducted to determine how HINT and Quick SIN performance among young adults with normal hearing (N=15) compared to normative values, as well as to reach conclusions about the clinical utility of both tests. Results showed that Quick SIN measures and normative values were not statistically significantly different while the HINT measures and normative values were. The Quick SIN was found to have some advantages over the CD version of the HINT in terms of clinical use.


La pertinence des mesures de la parole dans le bruit se fait de plus en plus sentir à mesure que les audiologistes comprennent les avantages d’utiliser les indicateurs de résultats montrant le besoin ou l’avantage de recourir à l’amplification. Les tests HINT (Hearing in Noise Test) et Quick SIN (Quick Speech-In-Noise) sont deux mesures de la parole dans le bruit. Cette étude visait à déterminer en quoi les résultats de ces deux mesures utilisées chez de jeunes adultes (N=15) ayant une ouïe normale se comparent aux valeurs normatives. Elle cherchait aussi à vérifier l’utilité en clinique de ces tests. Les résultats montrent que les mesures Quick SIN et les valeurs normatives ne comportaient pas de différences statistiquement significatives, tandis que les mesures HINT et les valeurs normatives en avaient. Le test Quick SIN présente certains avantages par rapport à la version CD du test HINT sur le plan clinique.
Record ID 923
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2006_JSLPA_Vol_30/No_02_81-152/Duncan_Aarts_JSLPA_2006.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

A Comparison of the HINT and Quick SIN Tests

 
Auteur(s) Kathy R. Duncan
Nancy L. Aarts
Volume 30
Nombre 2
Année 2006
Page(s) 86-94
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés Speech-in-noise
speech
understanding
intelligibility
Hearing
In
Noise
Test
Quick
adult
outcome
measure
Abrégé Speech-in-noise measures are gaining relevance as audiologists understand the advantages of using outcome measures that demonstrate the need for and benefit from amplification. Two such speech-in-noise measures are the Hearing in Noise Test (HINT) and the Quick Speech-In-Noise (Quick SIN) test. This study was conducted to determine how HINT and Quick SIN performance among young adults with normal hearing (N=15) compared to normative values, as well as to reach conclusions about the clinical utility of both tests. Results showed that Quick SIN measures and normative values were not statistically significantly different while the HINT measures and normative values were. The Quick SIN was found to have some advantages over the CD version of the HINT in terms of clinical use.


La pertinence des mesures de la parole dans le bruit se fait de plus en plus sentir à mesure que les audiologistes comprennent les avantages d’utiliser les indicateurs de résultats montrant le besoin ou l’avantage de recourir à l’amplification. Les tests HINT (Hearing in Noise Test) et Quick SIN (Quick Speech-In-Noise) sont deux mesures de la parole dans le bruit. Cette étude visait à déterminer en quoi les résultats de ces deux mesures utilisées chez de jeunes adultes (N=15) ayant une ouïe normale se comparent aux valeurs normatives. Elle cherchait aussi à vérifier l’utilité en clinique de ces tests. Les résultats montrent que les mesures Quick SIN et les valeurs normatives ne comportaient pas de différences statistiquement significatives, tandis que les mesures HINT et les valeurs normatives en avaient. Le test Quick SIN présente certains avantages par rapport à la version CD du test HINT sur le plan clinique.
ID 923
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2006_JSLPA_Vol_30/No_02_81-152/Duncan_Aarts_JSLPA_2006.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.