Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Psychological Stress and Language Processing in School-Aged Children / Le stress psychologique et le traitement du langage chez les enfants d’âge scolaire

 
Author(s) Jason Peter Sirianni
Volume 28
Number 3
Year 2004
Page(s) 112-121
Language English
Category
Keywords psychological
stress
language
processing
school-aged
Abstract Abstract
In this review article, the contribution of psychological stress to language-processing difficulties is discussed and applied to the demands of the school setting. Specifically, processing efficiency theory contends that worries have an effect on the working memory system and thus influence task efficiency: both phonological loop capacity and central executive resource utilization become impaired.
In addition, research linking the physiological events of psychological stress to disruption of the hippocampal memory system is examined. The hippocampal memory system is responsible for the formation of declarative memories, principally semantic and episodic memories. It is suggested that psychological stress can lead to semantic disorganization and ultimately word-retrieval difficulties. Suggestions for intervention, assessment, and future directions are also outlined.

Abrégé
Le présent exposé de synthèse examine la façon dont le stress psychologique intervient dans les difficultés de traitement du langage en fonction des exigences du milieu scolaire. Plus précisément, la théorie de l’efficacité du traitement mental soutient que les soucis ont un effet sur la mémoire opérationnelle et influent ainsi sur l’efficacité avec laquelle les tâches sont accomplies : la capacité de la boucle phonologique et l’utilisation des ressources de l’administrateur central sont altérés.
En outre, l’article examine les recherches qui établissent un lien entre les manifestations physiologiques du stress psychologique et la perturbation de la mémoire hippocampique. Le système mnémonique hippocampique est responsable de la formation des éléments de mémoire propositionnelle, principalement des éléments des mémoires sémantique et épisodique. On laisse entendre que le stress psychologique peut engendrer une désorganisation sémantique et éventuellement, des troubles de repérage lexical. On y propose aussi des moyens d’intervention et d’évaluation ainsi que des orientations futures.
Record ID 887
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2004_JSLPA_Vol_28/No_03_107-150/Sirianni_JSLPA_2004.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Psychological Stress and Language Processing in School-Aged Children / Le stress psychologique et le traitement du langage chez les enfants d’âge scolaire

 
Auteur(s) Jason Peter Sirianni
Volume 28
Nombre 3
Année 2004
Page(s) 112-121
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés psychological
stress
language
processing
school-aged
Abrégé Abstract
In this review article, the contribution of psychological stress to language-processing difficulties is discussed and applied to the demands of the school setting. Specifically, processing efficiency theory contends that worries have an effect on the working memory system and thus influence task efficiency: both phonological loop capacity and central executive resource utilization become impaired.
In addition, research linking the physiological events of psychological stress to disruption of the hippocampal memory system is examined. The hippocampal memory system is responsible for the formation of declarative memories, principally semantic and episodic memories. It is suggested that psychological stress can lead to semantic disorganization and ultimately word-retrieval difficulties. Suggestions for intervention, assessment, and future directions are also outlined.

Abrégé
Le présent exposé de synthèse examine la façon dont le stress psychologique intervient dans les difficultés de traitement du langage en fonction des exigences du milieu scolaire. Plus précisément, la théorie de l’efficacité du traitement mental soutient que les soucis ont un effet sur la mémoire opérationnelle et influent ainsi sur l’efficacité avec laquelle les tâches sont accomplies : la capacité de la boucle phonologique et l’utilisation des ressources de l’administrateur central sont altérés.
En outre, l’article examine les recherches qui établissent un lien entre les manifestations physiologiques du stress psychologique et la perturbation de la mémoire hippocampique. Le système mnémonique hippocampique est responsable de la formation des éléments de mémoire propositionnelle, principalement des éléments des mémoires sémantique et épisodique. On laisse entendre que le stress psychologique peut engendrer une désorganisation sémantique et éventuellement, des troubles de repérage lexical. On y propose aussi des moyens d’intervention et d’évaluation ainsi que des orientations futures.
ID 887
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2004_JSLPA_Vol_28/No_03_107-150/Sirianni_JSLPA_2004.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.