Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Reflections of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists on Practices in a Multicultural, Multilingual Society

 
Author(s) Theresa Young, MCISc
Fern Westernoff, EdD, MHSc
Volume 23
Number 1
Year 1999
Page(s) 24-30
Language English
Category
Keywords culture
diversity
interdisciplinary
language
cultural
Abstract In recognition of the challenges faced by audiologists and speech-language pathologists working with clients from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, an interdisciplinary panel presentation was hosted at the Ontario Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (OSLA) 1996 Conference. The session included a synopsis of demographic trends followed by a summary of national and provincial guidelines relevant to our practices. The audience then shared issues and challenges faced in their work settings. Promising practices were presented by panel members, followed by an opportunity for the audience to recommend actions to improve service delivery for clientele from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. This article integrates the reflections and suggestions of the participating practioners with relevant literature, through a discussion of the issues and recommendations impacting on professionals, employment settings, professional associations, universities, and government.



En reconnaissance des défis auxquels font face les orthophonistes et audiologistes œuvrant auprès de clients de diverses cultures et langues, on a tenu une présentation multidisciplinaire lors du congrès de 1996 de l’Ontario Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (OSLA). Cette séance a compris un synopsis des tendances démographiques, suivi d’un sommaire des lignes de conduite nationales et provinciales intéressant nos pratiques. Les membres de l’auditoire ont alors partagé les questions et les défis vécus dans leurs milieux professionnels. Les panélistes ont présenté quelques pratiques prometteuses, puis on a donné aux membres de l’auditoire l’occasion de recommander diverses façons d’améliorer la prestation des services à une clientèle culturellement et linguistiquement diverse. Cet article associe les réflexions et les suggestions des praticiens participants à la littérature pertinente par le biais d’une étude des questions et des recommandations ayant des incidences sur les professionnels, les milieux de travail, les associations professionnelles, les universités et les gouvernements.
Record ID 88
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1999_JSLPA_Vol_23/No_01_1-44/Young_Westernoff_JSLPA_1999.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Reflections of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists on Practices in a Multicultural, Multilingual Society

 
Auteur(s) Theresa Young, MCISc
Fern Westernoff, EdD, MHSc
Volume 23
Nombre 1
Année 1999
Page(s) 24-30
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés culture
diversity
interdisciplinary
language
cultural
Abrégé In recognition of the challenges faced by audiologists and speech-language pathologists working with clients from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, an interdisciplinary panel presentation was hosted at the Ontario Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (OSLA) 1996 Conference. The session included a synopsis of demographic trends followed by a summary of national and provincial guidelines relevant to our practices. The audience then shared issues and challenges faced in their work settings. Promising practices were presented by panel members, followed by an opportunity for the audience to recommend actions to improve service delivery for clientele from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. This article integrates the reflections and suggestions of the participating practioners with relevant literature, through a discussion of the issues and recommendations impacting on professionals, employment settings, professional associations, universities, and government.



En reconnaissance des défis auxquels font face les orthophonistes et audiologistes œuvrant auprès de clients de diverses cultures et langues, on a tenu une présentation multidisciplinaire lors du congrès de 1996 de l’Ontario Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (OSLA). Cette séance a compris un synopsis des tendances démographiques, suivi d’un sommaire des lignes de conduite nationales et provinciales intéressant nos pratiques. Les membres de l’auditoire ont alors partagé les questions et les défis vécus dans leurs milieux professionnels. Les panélistes ont présenté quelques pratiques prometteuses, puis on a donné aux membres de l’auditoire l’occasion de recommander diverses façons d’améliorer la prestation des services à une clientèle culturellement et linguistiquement diverse. Cet article associe les réflexions et les suggestions des praticiens participants à la littérature pertinente par le biais d’une étude des questions et des recommandations ayant des incidences sur les professionnels, les milieux de travail, les associations professionnelles, les universités et les gouvernements.
ID 88
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1999_JSLPA_Vol_23/No_01_1-44/Young_Westernoff_JSLPA_1999.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.