Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Effects of Prompting on Spontaneous Naming of Pictures by Aphasic Subjects

 
Author(s) Robert H. Brookshire
Volume 1
Number 5
Year 1975
Page(s) 63-71
Language English
Category
Keywords
Abstract Dans une serie d'épreuves, des malades aphasiques ont essayé de nommer des images d'objets communs. Les images tombaient dans trois catégories: images d'enseignment, images d'épreuve, et images de généralisation. Au cours du traitement expérimental, si un sujet n'arrivait pas à nommer une imagee d'ensiegnement, on lui soufflait le mot qui'il cherchait. Les images d'épreuve figuraient parmi les images d'entertainment, mais ne permettaient aucun soufflement. Les images de généralisation étaient présentées aprés le traitement expérimental. Les résultats démontrent que les soufflements ont un léger effet en facilitant aux sujets aphasiques l'identification spontanée des objets en question. Cet effet ne parait pas se généraliser aux objets non soufflés. Les résultats suggérent qu-il est inutile de passer beaucoup de temps clinique à souffler dans l'espoir de faciliter l'identification généralisée spontanée.

Aphasic patients were given a series of trials in which they attempted to name pictures of common objects. Pictures were divided into three catergories; Training pictures, Probe Pictures, and Generalization pictures. During the experimental treatment, if a sobject failed to name a Training Picture, he was prompted, i.e., the clinician said the word and the patient repeated it. Probe Pictures were presented intermixed with Training Pictures, but received no prompting. Generalization Pictures were presented after the experiemntal treatment. Results demonstrate that prompting has a slight facilitiating effect on spontaneous naming of prompted items by asphasic subjects. This effect apparently does not generalize to unprompted items. The results suggest that extensive clinical time spent in prompting in an attempt to facilitate generalized spontaneous naming is not appropriate.
Record ID 874
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1975_HumComm_Vol_01/No_05_1-93/Brookshire_HumComm_1975.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Effects of Prompting on Spontaneous Naming of Pictures by Aphasic Subjects

 
Auteur(s) Robert H. Brookshire
Volume 1
Nombre 5
Année 1975
Page(s) 63-71
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés
Abrégé Dans une serie d'épreuves, des malades aphasiques ont essayé de nommer des images d'objets communs. Les images tombaient dans trois catégories: images d'enseignment, images d'épreuve, et images de généralisation. Au cours du traitement expérimental, si un sujet n'arrivait pas à nommer une imagee d'ensiegnement, on lui soufflait le mot qui'il cherchait. Les images d'épreuve figuraient parmi les images d'entertainment, mais ne permettaient aucun soufflement. Les images de généralisation étaient présentées aprés le traitement expérimental. Les résultats démontrent que les soufflements ont un léger effet en facilitant aux sujets aphasiques l'identification spontanée des objets en question. Cet effet ne parait pas se généraliser aux objets non soufflés. Les résultats suggérent qu-il est inutile de passer beaucoup de temps clinique à souffler dans l'espoir de faciliter l'identification généralisée spontanée.

Aphasic patients were given a series of trials in which they attempted to name pictures of common objects. Pictures were divided into three catergories; Training pictures, Probe Pictures, and Generalization pictures. During the experimental treatment, if a sobject failed to name a Training Picture, he was prompted, i.e., the clinician said the word and the patient repeated it. Probe Pictures were presented intermixed with Training Pictures, but received no prompting. Generalization Pictures were presented after the experiemntal treatment. Results demonstrate that prompting has a slight facilitiating effect on spontaneous naming of prompted items by asphasic subjects. This effect apparently does not generalize to unprompted items. The results suggest that extensive clinical time spent in prompting in an attempt to facilitate generalized spontaneous naming is not appropriate.
ID 874
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1975_HumComm_Vol_01/No_05_1-93/Brookshire_HumComm_1975.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.