Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

An Experimental Analysis of Comprehension and Production in Children's Acquisition of Morphological Rules

 
Author(s) Gary Holdgrafer
Leija McReynolds
Volume 1
Number 5
Year 1975
Page(s) 45-62
Language English
Category
Keywords
Abstract A quatre enfants normaux on a ensigné une régle morphologique inventée qui contrastait PEU et BEAUCOUP (<>) de noms pluraux pour la compréhension en même temps que pour la production. Ensuite la régle à été renversée dans l'une modalité et puis dans l'autre, pendant l'institution simultanée des deux modalités. Chaque condition d'instruction comprenait l'institution continue de paire substantives, l'un des substantifs enseigné pour la compréhension, et l'autre pour la production. Par des épreuves de la modalité non ensignée de chaque substantif enseigné, on aà seeayé de déterminer si les sujets choisiraient d'apprendre par la compréhension ou la production pour étendre une régle. Les résultats pour tous les sujets ont indiqué qu'aprés l'acquisition d'une régle dans les duex modalites que pour les substantifs enseignés directement dans le renversement de la régle dans l'une ou l'autre modalité. Ainsi la compréhension et la production ont fonctionné comme unité intégrale pour ces sujets-ci dan l'application d'une régle ou du renversement d'une régle. Les résultats ont été reproduits par une seconde régle morphologique inventée avec un seul sujet.

Four normal children were taught contrived morphological rule contrasting FEW and MANY of plural nouns simultaneously in comprehension and production. The rule was then reversed in one modality and then the other modality during simultaneous training of both modalities. Each training condition involved the sequential training of other noun in production. Probes of the untrained modality of each noun trained and of both modalities of untrained nouns were administered to determine if subjects would choose comprehension or production learning for extended a rule. Results for all subjects indicated that after rule acquisition in both moralities, rule reversal training in either comprehension or production was not sufficient to reverse the rule on the probes. Subjects reversed the rule in both modalities for only those nouns trained directly in rule reversal in one or the other modalitiy. Thus comprehension and production functioned as an integral unit for these subjects in applying a rule or rule reversal. The results were replicated across a second contrived morphological rule with one subject.
Record ID 873
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1975_HumComm_Vol_01/No_05_1-93/Holdgrafer_McReynolds_HumComm_1975.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

An Experimental Analysis of Comprehension and Production in Children's Acquisition of Morphological Rules

 
Auteur(s) Gary Holdgrafer
Leija McReynolds
Volume 1
Nombre 5
Année 1975
Page(s) 45-62
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés
Abrégé A quatre enfants normaux on a ensigné une régle morphologique inventée qui contrastait PEU et BEAUCOUP (<>) de noms pluraux pour la compréhension en même temps que pour la production. Ensuite la régle à été renversée dans l'une modalité et puis dans l'autre, pendant l'institution simultanée des deux modalités. Chaque condition d'instruction comprenait l'institution continue de paire substantives, l'un des substantifs enseigné pour la compréhension, et l'autre pour la production. Par des épreuves de la modalité non ensignée de chaque substantif enseigné, on aà seeayé de déterminer si les sujets choisiraient d'apprendre par la compréhension ou la production pour étendre une régle. Les résultats pour tous les sujets ont indiqué qu'aprés l'acquisition d'une régle dans les duex modalites que pour les substantifs enseignés directement dans le renversement de la régle dans l'une ou l'autre modalité. Ainsi la compréhension et la production ont fonctionné comme unité intégrale pour ces sujets-ci dan l'application d'une régle ou du renversement d'une régle. Les résultats ont été reproduits par une seconde régle morphologique inventée avec un seul sujet.

Four normal children were taught contrived morphological rule contrasting FEW and MANY of plural nouns simultaneously in comprehension and production. The rule was then reversed in one modality and then the other modality during simultaneous training of both modalities. Each training condition involved the sequential training of other noun in production. Probes of the untrained modality of each noun trained and of both modalities of untrained nouns were administered to determine if subjects would choose comprehension or production learning for extended a rule. Results for all subjects indicated that after rule acquisition in both moralities, rule reversal training in either comprehension or production was not sufficient to reverse the rule on the probes. Subjects reversed the rule in both modalities for only those nouns trained directly in rule reversal in one or the other modalitiy. Thus comprehension and production functioned as an integral unit for these subjects in applying a rule or rule reversal. The results were replicated across a second contrived morphological rule with one subject.
ID 873
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1975_HumComm_Vol_01/No_05_1-93/Holdgrafer_McReynolds_HumComm_1975.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.