Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Phonological Abilities of Bilingual Children with Specific Language Impairment: A Descriptive Analysis

 
Author(s) Andrea A.N. MacLeod
Rebecca J. McCauley
Volume 27
Number 1
Year 2003
Page(s) 29-44
Language English
Category
Keywords bilingualism
phonology
specific
language
impairment
French
Canadian
dialect
Abstract The purpose of this comparative study was to provide basic information about the phonological abilities of Canadian French-English bilingual children with specific language impairment (SLI). Thus five bilingual children with SLI (6;11 to 7;11)were compared to four French monolingual children with SLI (7;0-8;1) as well as with four normally developing monolingual children (2;5 to 3;10). The phonology of the three groups was compared using standard methods of phonological description as well as measures recently proposed (Ingram & Ingram 2001; Ingram, 2002). The seven sets of phonological measures were made from conversational samples conducted in French between the child and an adult, taken from previously collected experimental data. The group comparison examined the relationship between differences in sound use that may be motivated by the complexities posed by the bilingual environment and those secondary to identified developmental language learning difficulties (i.e., SLI).



Cette étude comparative avait pour objectif d’obtenir de l’information de base sur les habiletés phonologiques des enfants canadien français présentant des troubles spécifiques de développement du langage (TSDL). Cinq enfants bilingues présentant un TSDL (âgés entre 6;11 et 7;11) ont été comparés à quatre autres enfants unilingues français présentant aussi un TSDL (âgés entre 7;0 et 8;1) de même qu’avec quatre autres enfants unilingues présentant un développement normal du langage (âgés entre 2;5 et 3;10). La phonologie des trois groupes a été comparée en utilisant des méthodes de description phonologique standards de même qu’à l’aide de méthodes de mesure récemment proposée (Ingram & Ingram, 2001; Ingram, 2002). Les sept ensembles de mesures phonologiques ont été effectuées à partir d’échantillons de conversation conduites en français, entre un enfant et un adulte. Ces échantillons provenaient de cueillettes de données expérimentales effectuées dans le passé. Les comparaisons entre les groupes portaient sur la relation entre les différences au niveau de la production des sons qui aurait pu être attribuables à la complexité de l’environnement bilingue et celles secondaires aux difficultés d’apprentissage du langage (p. ex., TSDL).
Record ID 818
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_01_1-92/MacLeod_McCauley_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Phonological Abilities of Bilingual Children with Specific Language Impairment: A Descriptive Analysis

 
Auteur(s) Andrea A.N. MacLeod
Rebecca J. McCauley
Volume 27
Nombre 1
Année 2003
Page(s) 29-44
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés bilingualism
phonology
specific
language
impairment
French
Canadian
dialect
Abrégé The purpose of this comparative study was to provide basic information about the phonological abilities of Canadian French-English bilingual children with specific language impairment (SLI). Thus five bilingual children with SLI (6;11 to 7;11)were compared to four French monolingual children with SLI (7;0-8;1) as well as with four normally developing monolingual children (2;5 to 3;10). The phonology of the three groups was compared using standard methods of phonological description as well as measures recently proposed (Ingram & Ingram 2001; Ingram, 2002). The seven sets of phonological measures were made from conversational samples conducted in French between the child and an adult, taken from previously collected experimental data. The group comparison examined the relationship between differences in sound use that may be motivated by the complexities posed by the bilingual environment and those secondary to identified developmental language learning difficulties (i.e., SLI).



Cette étude comparative avait pour objectif d’obtenir de l’information de base sur les habiletés phonologiques des enfants canadien français présentant des troubles spécifiques de développement du langage (TSDL). Cinq enfants bilingues présentant un TSDL (âgés entre 6;11 et 7;11) ont été comparés à quatre autres enfants unilingues français présentant aussi un TSDL (âgés entre 7;0 et 8;1) de même qu’avec quatre autres enfants unilingues présentant un développement normal du langage (âgés entre 2;5 et 3;10). La phonologie des trois groupes a été comparée en utilisant des méthodes de description phonologique standards de même qu’à l’aide de méthodes de mesure récemment proposée (Ingram & Ingram, 2001; Ingram, 2002). Les sept ensembles de mesures phonologiques ont été effectuées à partir d’échantillons de conversation conduites en français, entre un enfant et un adulte. Ces échantillons provenaient de cueillettes de données expérimentales effectuées dans le passé. Les comparaisons entre les groupes portaient sur la relation entre les différences au niveau de la production des sons qui aurait pu être attribuables à la complexité de l’environnement bilingue et celles secondaires aux difficultés d’apprentissage du langage (p. ex., TSDL).
ID 818
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_01_1-92/MacLeod_McCauley_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.