Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Job Satisfaction of School Speech-Language Pathologists

 
Author(s) Sofie Kaegi
Karen Svitich
Leslie Chambers
Cynthia Bakler
Phyllis Schneider
Volume 26
Number 3
Year 2002
Page(s) 126-137
Language English
Category
Keywords job
satisfaction
school
speech-language
pathologist
Abstract This preliminary study sought to assess job satisfaction and job setting characteristics of school speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) in three regions of Canada. A 44-item questionnaire was completed by school S-LPs working in an Ontario city, an Alberta city, and in rural Alberta areas. Job characteristics and factors contributing to job satisfaction were described differently in each area. A composite score of job satisfaction was computed from questions relating to job satisfaction. The composite scores were significantly correlated with the respondents’ ratings of overall job satisfaction. A variety of job characteristics were identified by respondents as negative or positive through a content analysis, and these may influence their feelings of job satisfaction. It appears that in spite of the majority of respondents being satisfied with their job, there is a preponderance of burnout, heavy caseloads, and negative changes to the workplace.




Ce projet-pilote avait pour but de jeter un premier regard sur la satisfaction professionnelle et les caractéristiques du travail des orthophonistes oeuvrant en milieu scolaire dans trois régions du Canada. Un questionnaire de 44 questions a été rempli par des orthophonistes oeuvrant en milieu scolaire dans une ville ontarienne, une ville albertaine et dans des secteurs ruraux de l’Alberta. Les caractéristiques des emplois et les facteurs contribuant à la satisfaction professionnelle étaient décrits différemment dans chaque région. Un score composé de satisfaction professionnelle a été calculé à partir des questions portant sur la satisfaction professionnelle. Les scores composés avaient une forte corrélation avec l’évaluation de la satisfaction professionnelle générale des répondants. Diverses caractéristiques d’emploi ont été désignées par les répondants comme étant négatives ou positives par le biais d’une analyse de contenu et celles-ci peuvent avoir une influence sur leurs sentiments de satisfaction professionnelle. Il semble que malgré que la majorité des répondants éprouvent une certaine satisfaction face à leur emploi, il existe un très grand nombre de cas d’épuisement professionnel, de charges de travail trop lourdes et de changements négatifs se produisant en milieu de travail.
Record ID 799
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2002_JSLPA_Vol_26/No_03_121-164/Kaegi_Svitich_Chambers_JSLPA_2002.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Job Satisfaction of School Speech-Language Pathologists

 
Auteur(s) Sofie Kaegi
Karen Svitich
Leslie Chambers
Cynthia Bakler
Phyllis Schneider
Volume 26
Nombre 3
Année 2002
Page(s) 126-137
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés job
satisfaction
school
speech-language
pathologist
Abrégé This preliminary study sought to assess job satisfaction and job setting characteristics of school speech-language pathologists (S-LPs) in three regions of Canada. A 44-item questionnaire was completed by school S-LPs working in an Ontario city, an Alberta city, and in rural Alberta areas. Job characteristics and factors contributing to job satisfaction were described differently in each area. A composite score of job satisfaction was computed from questions relating to job satisfaction. The composite scores were significantly correlated with the respondents’ ratings of overall job satisfaction. A variety of job characteristics were identified by respondents as negative or positive through a content analysis, and these may influence their feelings of job satisfaction. It appears that in spite of the majority of respondents being satisfied with their job, there is a preponderance of burnout, heavy caseloads, and negative changes to the workplace.




Ce projet-pilote avait pour but de jeter un premier regard sur la satisfaction professionnelle et les caractéristiques du travail des orthophonistes oeuvrant en milieu scolaire dans trois régions du Canada. Un questionnaire de 44 questions a été rempli par des orthophonistes oeuvrant en milieu scolaire dans une ville ontarienne, une ville albertaine et dans des secteurs ruraux de l’Alberta. Les caractéristiques des emplois et les facteurs contribuant à la satisfaction professionnelle étaient décrits différemment dans chaque région. Un score composé de satisfaction professionnelle a été calculé à partir des questions portant sur la satisfaction professionnelle. Les scores composés avaient une forte corrélation avec l’évaluation de la satisfaction professionnelle générale des répondants. Diverses caractéristiques d’emploi ont été désignées par les répondants comme étant négatives ou positives par le biais d’une analyse de contenu et celles-ci peuvent avoir une influence sur leurs sentiments de satisfaction professionnelle. Il semble que malgré que la majorité des répondants éprouvent une certaine satisfaction face à leur emploi, il existe un très grand nombre de cas d’épuisement professionnel, de charges de travail trop lourdes et de changements négatifs se produisant en milieu de travail.
ID 799
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2002_JSLPA_Vol_26/No_03_121-164/Kaegi_Svitich_Chambers_JSLPA_2002.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.