Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Oral Prosthetic Rehabilitation of Individuals with Head and Neck Cancer: A Review of Current Practice

 
Author(s) H.A Leeper, PhD
David Gratton, DDS, MS
Volume 23
Number 3
Year 1999
Page(s) 117-133
Language English
Category
Keywords oral
cancer
prosthodontic
speech
outcome
measurement
Abstract This article describes the methods and procedures for assessment of speech and oral function in individuals with oral cancer who are managed with prosthodontic appliances. The article also describes methodologies for the prosthetic management of individuals with maxillary and mandibular defects secondary to oral cancer. Surgical, dental, speech, and psychosocial aspects of counseling throughout the management process from presurgery to immediate postsurgery obturation and through the interim and the definitive dental prosthesis stages are described. Techniques for speech assessment that focus on interaction between the various speech “valves” in the vocal tract are defined relative to their use in documenting outcome measures for communication success.



Ce mémoire décrit les méthodes et les procédures employées dans l’évaluation de la parole et de la fonction orale chez les personnes atteintes d’un cancer buccal et qui sont traitées au moyen de prothèses dentaires. Le mémoire décrit les méthodologies de traitement par prothèse de personnes présentant des défauts maxillaires et mandibulaires dus à un cancer buccal. On décrit, aux diverses étapes du traitement, les aspects chirurgicaux, dentaires, psychosociaux et de la parole du counseling au cours de l’ensemble du traitement, depuis le stade pré-chirurgical jusqu’à l’obturation post-chirurgicale, ainsi qu’aux étapes des prothèses intérimaires et définitives. On définit les techniques d’évaluation de la parole qui mettent l’accent sur l’interaction entre les diverses « valves » de parole du tractus aérien, relativement à leur utilisation dans la documentation de la mesure des résultats de communication.
Record ID 71
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1999_JSLPA_Vol_23/No_03_101-160/Leeper_Gratton_JSLPA_1999.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Oral Prosthetic Rehabilitation of Individuals with Head and Neck Cancer: A Review of Current Practice

 
Auteur(s) H.A Leeper, PhD
David Gratton, DDS, MS
Volume 23
Nombre 3
Année 1999
Page(s) 117-133
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés oral
cancer
prosthodontic
speech
outcome
measurement
Abrégé This article describes the methods and procedures for assessment of speech and oral function in individuals with oral cancer who are managed with prosthodontic appliances. The article also describes methodologies for the prosthetic management of individuals with maxillary and mandibular defects secondary to oral cancer. Surgical, dental, speech, and psychosocial aspects of counseling throughout the management process from presurgery to immediate postsurgery obturation and through the interim and the definitive dental prosthesis stages are described. Techniques for speech assessment that focus on interaction between the various speech “valves” in the vocal tract are defined relative to their use in documenting outcome measures for communication success.



Ce mémoire décrit les méthodes et les procédures employées dans l’évaluation de la parole et de la fonction orale chez les personnes atteintes d’un cancer buccal et qui sont traitées au moyen de prothèses dentaires. Le mémoire décrit les méthodologies de traitement par prothèse de personnes présentant des défauts maxillaires et mandibulaires dus à un cancer buccal. On décrit, aux diverses étapes du traitement, les aspects chirurgicaux, dentaires, psychosociaux et de la parole du counseling au cours de l’ensemble du traitement, depuis le stade pré-chirurgical jusqu’à l’obturation post-chirurgicale, ainsi qu’aux étapes des prothèses intérimaires et définitives. On définit les techniques d’évaluation de la parole qui mettent l’accent sur l’interaction entre les diverses « valves » de parole du tractus aérien, relativement à leur utilisation dans la documentation de la mesure des résultats de communication.
ID 71
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1999_JSLPA_Vol_23/No_03_101-160/Leeper_Gratton_JSLPA_1999.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.