Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Assessment of Communication Disorders in Second Language Learners

 
Author(s) Fern Westernoff
Volume 15
Number 4
Year 1991
Page(s) 73-79
Language English
Category
Keywords communication
difference
disorder
Abstract Speech-language pathologists are challenged by the intricacy of assessing and diagnosing communication disorders in bilingual populations. This paper discusses some obstacles preventing clinicians from providing services to multiculturally diverse clients, and explores several key issues which should be considered when working with this population. The paper does not purport to be conclusive or exhaustive, but is rather a starting point for clinicians to examine their own procedures for assessment and remediation of communication disorders in multicultural populations.
The need for further research in this area is acknowledged.


Des orthophonistes se heurent à la difficulté de diagnostiquer et de traiter les problèmes de communication chez les personnes bilingues. L'article analyse certains obstacles qui empêchent des cliniciens d'offrir des services à des clients aux antécédents multiculturels divers, et aborde plusieurs questions importantes qui doivent être examinées lorsqu'on traite ce genre de client. L'article ne prétend pas être concluant ou exhaustif, mais constitue plutôt un point de départ pour permettre aux cliniciens d'examiner leurs propres méthodes d'évaluation et de traitement des troubles de communication chez les personnes bilingues. Il est évident qu'il faut des études plus approfondies dans ce domaine.
Record ID 392
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1991_JSLPA_Vol_15/No_04_1-80/Westernoff_JSLPA_1991.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Assessment of Communication Disorders in Second Language Learners

 
Auteur(s) Fern Westernoff
Volume 15
Nombre 4
Année 1991
Page(s) 73-79
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés communication
difference
disorder
Abrégé Speech-language pathologists are challenged by the intricacy of assessing and diagnosing communication disorders in bilingual populations. This paper discusses some obstacles preventing clinicians from providing services to multiculturally diverse clients, and explores several key issues which should be considered when working with this population. The paper does not purport to be conclusive or exhaustive, but is rather a starting point for clinicians to examine their own procedures for assessment and remediation of communication disorders in multicultural populations.
The need for further research in this area is acknowledged.


Des orthophonistes se heurent à la difficulté de diagnostiquer et de traiter les problèmes de communication chez les personnes bilingues. L'article analyse certains obstacles qui empêchent des cliniciens d'offrir des services à des clients aux antécédents multiculturels divers, et aborde plusieurs questions importantes qui doivent être examinées lorsqu'on traite ce genre de client. L'article ne prétend pas être concluant ou exhaustif, mais constitue plutôt un point de départ pour permettre aux cliniciens d'examiner leurs propres méthodes d'évaluation et de traitement des troubles de communication chez les personnes bilingues. Il est évident qu'il faut des études plus approfondies dans ce domaine.
ID 392
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1991_JSLPA_Vol_15/No_04_1-80/Westernoff_JSLPA_1991.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.