Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Helping Others: A Personal View

 
Author(s) Christine Sloan
Volume 16
Number 4
Year 1992
Page(s) 325-329
Language English
Category
Keywords health
profession
ethics
care
therapy
Abstract Clinical practice, which involves working with and for others, can be a rich and powerful experience. Although major ethical dilemmas do arise, much of what we call ethics in clinical practice relates to the moment by moment decision-making that we do on a daily basis. This paper takes a very personal look at that process and at what we can learn from it not only about our clients, but also about ourselves.


L'activité clinique, qui implique un travail avec et à l'intention des autres, peut être une expérience à la fois enrichissante et puissante. Bien que des problèmes d'éthique importants font surface de temps en temps, ce que nous qualifions d'éthique en pratique clinique est plutôt relié à la prise de décision qui se fait au jour le jour. Cette communication jette un regard très personnel sur ce processus et sur les conclusions que nous pouvons en tirer non seulement sur nos clients, mais également sur nous-mêmes.
Record ID 343
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_04_251-330/Sloan_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Helping Others: A Personal View

 
Auteur(s) Christine Sloan
Volume 16
Nombre 4
Année 1992
Page(s) 325-329
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés health
profession
ethics
care
therapy
Abrégé Clinical practice, which involves working with and for others, can be a rich and powerful experience. Although major ethical dilemmas do arise, much of what we call ethics in clinical practice relates to the moment by moment decision-making that we do on a daily basis. This paper takes a very personal look at that process and at what we can learn from it not only about our clients, but also about ourselves.


L'activité clinique, qui implique un travail avec et à l'intention des autres, peut être une expérience à la fois enrichissante et puissante. Bien que des problèmes d'éthique importants font surface de temps en temps, ce que nous qualifions d'éthique en pratique clinique est plutôt relié à la prise de décision qui se fait au jour le jour. Cette communication jette un regard très personnel sur ce processus et sur les conclusions que nous pouvons en tirer non seulement sur nos clients, mais également sur nous-mêmes.
ID 343
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_04_251-330/Sloan_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.