Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Hearing Aid Selection and Evaluation in the Year 2000

 
Author(s) Larry E Humes
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 98-106
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
selection
evaluation
Abstract This paper describes three new procedures that could prove useful for the selection and evaluation of hearing aids in the future. First, an approach to hearing aid fitting based on the restoration of normal loudness patterns is described. Next, a means of evaluating the hearing aid fit for speech sounds, referred to as the phon-gram, is illustrated. Finally, the modified Speech Transmission Index (mSTI) is offered as a potential solution to the problems of score interpretation and generalization for speech recognition scores obtained in the hearing aid evaluation. These three new procedures serve to illustrate ways in which new technology and knowledge can be applied to the solution of problems confronting the audiologist and the hearing aid wearer.



L'auteur décrit trois nouvelles procédures qui pourraient se révéler éventuellement utiles lors de la sélection et de l'évaluation des
prothèses auditives. Premièrement, il aborde une méthode d'ajustement des prothèses auditives qui est basée sur le rétablissement des niveaux normaux de sonorie. Il détaille ensuite des moyens pour évaluer l'ajustement des prothèses auditives en se basant sur les sons vocaux (graphique connu sous le nom de "phon-gram"). Enfin, il présente l'index modifié de transmission de la parole (mSTI) comme solution possible aux problèmes de l'interprétation et de la généralisation des résultats obtenus aux examens vocaux lors de l'évaluation prothétique. Ces trois nouvelles méthodes servent à illustrer des façons d'appliquer les nouvelles technologies et connaissances à la solution des problèmes auxquels font face l'audiologiste et l'utilisateur de la prothèse auditive.
Record ID 331
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Humes_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Hearing Aid Selection and Evaluation in the Year 2000

 
Auteur(s) Larry E Humes
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 98-106
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
selection
evaluation
Abrégé This paper describes three new procedures that could prove useful for the selection and evaluation of hearing aids in the future. First, an approach to hearing aid fitting based on the restoration of normal loudness patterns is described. Next, a means of evaluating the hearing aid fit for speech sounds, referred to as the phon-gram, is illustrated. Finally, the modified Speech Transmission Index (mSTI) is offered as a potential solution to the problems of score interpretation and generalization for speech recognition scores obtained in the hearing aid evaluation. These three new procedures serve to illustrate ways in which new technology and knowledge can be applied to the solution of problems confronting the audiologist and the hearing aid wearer.



L'auteur décrit trois nouvelles procédures qui pourraient se révéler éventuellement utiles lors de la sélection et de l'évaluation des
prothèses auditives. Premièrement, il aborde une méthode d'ajustement des prothèses auditives qui est basée sur le rétablissement des niveaux normaux de sonorie. Il détaille ensuite des moyens pour évaluer l'ajustement des prothèses auditives en se basant sur les sons vocaux (graphique connu sous le nom de "phon-gram"). Enfin, il présente l'index modifié de transmission de la parole (mSTI) comme solution possible aux problèmes de l'interprétation et de la généralisation des résultats obtenus aux examens vocaux lors de l'évaluation prothétique. Ces trois nouvelles méthodes servent à illustrer des façons d'appliquer les nouvelles technologies et connaissances à la solution des problèmes auxquels font face l'audiologiste et l'utilisateur de la prothèse auditive.
ID 331
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Humes_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.