Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Present and Future Technology in Hearing Aids

 
Author(s) J. Verschuure
W.A. Dreschler
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 65-73
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
signal
processing
compression
speech
Abstract This paper lists some problems encountered by hearing impaired people and the proposed solutions. It critically reviews those solutions with regard to their theoretical foundations and their applicability in daily life situations. It further questions the introduction of new technology as a major breakthrough when the technology is an application of available general technology for which the benefit for hearing impaired people has not been demonstrated. Some of these breakthroughs are based on miniaturization of the hearing aid for which the audiological consequences cannot be expected to be positive. An approach is offered based on present knowledge of processing in the impaired auditory system. The consequences of the approach for syllabic compression and some results are presented.



Le présent document énumère certains problèmes rencontrés par les malentendants ainsi que les solutions proposées. L'auteur examine de façon critique ces solutions en fonction des bases théoriques et de leur application dans la vie quotidienne. Il met en doute l'introduction de technologies nouvelles qui passent pour une découverte importante lorsque ces technologies sont une application de la technologie générale disponible et lorsque les avantages pour les malentendants restent à démontrer. Certaines de ces découvertes sont fondées sur la miniaturisation des prothèses auditives pour lesquelles les conséquences sur le plan audiologique sont peu favorables. Il est question d'une approche basée sur les connaissances actuelles du traitement du système auditif déficient. Les conséquences de l'approche de la compression des syllabes font l'objet de discussions et certains résultats sont présentés.
Record ID 328
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Verschuure_Dreschler_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Present and Future Technology in Hearing Aids

 
Auteur(s) J. Verschuure
W.A. Dreschler
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 65-73
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
signal
processing
compression
speech
Abrégé This paper lists some problems encountered by hearing impaired people and the proposed solutions. It critically reviews those solutions with regard to their theoretical foundations and their applicability in daily life situations. It further questions the introduction of new technology as a major breakthrough when the technology is an application of available general technology for which the benefit for hearing impaired people has not been demonstrated. Some of these breakthroughs are based on miniaturization of the hearing aid for which the audiological consequences cannot be expected to be positive. An approach is offered based on present knowledge of processing in the impaired auditory system. The consequences of the approach for syllabic compression and some results are presented.



Le présent document énumère certains problèmes rencontrés par les malentendants ainsi que les solutions proposées. L'auteur examine de façon critique ces solutions en fonction des bases théoriques et de leur application dans la vie quotidienne. Il met en doute l'introduction de technologies nouvelles qui passent pour une découverte importante lorsque ces technologies sont une application de la technologie générale disponible et lorsque les avantages pour les malentendants restent à démontrer. Certaines de ces découvertes sont fondées sur la miniaturisation des prothèses auditives pour lesquelles les conséquences sur le plan audiologique sont peu favorables. Il est question d'une approche basée sur les connaissances actuelles du traitement du système auditif déficient. Les conséquences de l'approche de la compression des syllabes font l'objet de discussions et certains résultats sont présentés.
ID 328
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Verschuure_Dreschler_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.