Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Hearing Aid Design Criteria

 
Author(s) James M. Kates
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 15-23
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
amplification
distortion
compression
Abstract The modern hearing aid is an imperfect device. Practical implementations often fail to meet reasonable performance expectations, and adequate design criteria are often lacking for more advanced signal processing strategies. Performance limitations and design objectives will be reviewed for three areas of particular importance in hearing aids: linear amplification, dynamic range compression, and noise suppression.


La prothèse auditive d'aujourd'hui est un appareil imparfait. Fréquemment, ses applications pratiques ne répondent pas à la performance attendue, et un modèle conceptuel décrivant des critères appropriés est souvent indisponible pour les stratégies plus avancées de traitement du signal. L'auteur examine les limites au niveau de la performance des appareils auditifs et les objectifs d'un modèle conceptuel pour trois aspects importants des aides auditives : l'amplification linéaire, le système de compression et la suppression du bruit.
Record ID 322
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Kates_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Hearing Aid Design Criteria

 
Auteur(s) James M. Kates
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 15-23
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
amplification
distortion
compression
Abrégé The modern hearing aid is an imperfect device. Practical implementations often fail to meet reasonable performance expectations, and adequate design criteria are often lacking for more advanced signal processing strategies. Performance limitations and design objectives will be reviewed for three areas of particular importance in hearing aids: linear amplification, dynamic range compression, and noise suppression.


La prothèse auditive d'aujourd'hui est un appareil imparfait. Fréquemment, ses applications pratiques ne répondent pas à la performance attendue, et un modèle conceptuel décrivant des critères appropriés est souvent indisponible pour les stratégies plus avancées de traitement du signal. L'auteur examine les limites au niveau de la performance des appareils auditifs et les objectifs d'un modèle conceptuel pour trois aspects importants des aides auditives : l'amplification linéaire, le système de compression et la suppression du bruit.
ID 322
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Kates_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.