Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Current Design Options and Criteria for Hearing Aids

 
Author(s) William A. Cole
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 7-14
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
amplification
compression
AGC
Abstract It is common to assume that, when hearing aids fail to meet the needs of their owners, either the hearing aid design criteria or the available technology was inadequate. This paper reviews several design options and presents, from a designer's perspective, the goals of these approaches, pointing out that performance inadequacies have often been the result of design compromises in response to market pressures rather than a lack of adequate design criteria or technology.



Il n'est pas inhabituel de présumer que, lorsque des prothèses auditives ne répondent pas aux besoins de leurs utilisateurs, ni les technologies ni le modèle conceptuel des aides auditives étaient adéquats. L'auteur examine plusieurs modèles conceptuels possibles et présente, du point de vue du concepteur, les buts de ces approches. Il montre que les lacunes au niveau de la performance sont souvent le résultat de compromis effectués au niveau de la conception en réponse aux pressions du marché, plutôt que du manque de technologies et/ou de critères de conception appropriés.
Record ID 321
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Cole_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Current Design Options and Criteria for Hearing Aids

 
Auteur(s) William A. Cole
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 7-14
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
amplification
compression
AGC
Abrégé It is common to assume that, when hearing aids fail to meet the needs of their owners, either the hearing aid design criteria or the available technology was inadequate. This paper reviews several design options and presents, from a designer's perspective, the goals of these approaches, pointing out that performance inadequacies have often been the result of design compromises in response to market pressures rather than a lack of adequate design criteria or technology.



Il n'est pas inhabituel de présumer que, lorsque des prothèses auditives ne répondent pas aux besoins de leurs utilisateurs, ni les technologies ni le modèle conceptuel des aides auditives étaient adéquats. L'auteur examine plusieurs modèles conceptuels possibles et présente, du point de vue du concepteur, les buts de ces approches. Il montre que les lacunes au niveau de la performance sont souvent le résultat de compromis effectués au niveau de la conception en réponse aux pressions du marché, plutôt que du manque de technologies et/ou de critères de conception appropriés.
ID 321
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Cole_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.