Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Effects of Sound-Field Amplification on Attending Behaviours

 
Author(s) Shauna Cornwell
Charlotte J. Evans
Volume 25
Number 3
Year 2001
Page(s) 135-144
Language English
Category
Keywords sound-field
amplification
attending
behaviour
Abstract Students in elementary classrooms spend a significant portion of their school day in “listening” activities. The use of sound-field amplification systems in classrooms has been suggested as a way to improve the listening environment for a variety of different learners, including students with mild-to-moderate hearing losses, students with fluctuating hearing losses, and students learning English as a second language. The current study considers the effects of using a sound-field amplification system to improve the attending behaviours of students with and without attending and focusing difficulties. The results indicate a trend toward increased “on-task” time when amplification is used. Student and teacher responses to the use of the system also were found to be favourable.



Les élèves au primaire consacrent une partie importante de leur journée scolaire à des activités d’écoute. L’utilisation de système d’amplification en champ libre est suggéré pour améliorer les conditions d’écoute de plusieurs enfants. On le suggère aux enfants qui présentent des pertes auditives légères, moyennes ou fluctuantes, de même qu’à ceux qui apprennent l’anglais comme langue seconde. La présente étude porte sur les effets de l’ utilisation de système d’amplification en champ libre sur le comportement d’ écoute des élèves qu’ils présentent ou non des problèmes d’audition ou de concentration. Les résultats indiquent qu’avec l’utilisation de système d’amplificationen champ libre, le temps consacré aux tâches a tendance à augmenter. Par ailleurs, les élèves et les enseignants réagissent positivement à l’utilisation de tels systèmes.
Record ID 29
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2001_JSLPA_Vol_25/No_03_125-172/Cornwell_Evans_JSLPA_2001.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Effects of Sound-Field Amplification on Attending Behaviours

 
Auteur(s) Shauna Cornwell
Charlotte J. Evans
Volume 25
Nombre 3
Année 2001
Page(s) 135-144
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés sound-field
amplification
attending
behaviour
Abrégé Students in elementary classrooms spend a significant portion of their school day in “listening” activities. The use of sound-field amplification systems in classrooms has been suggested as a way to improve the listening environment for a variety of different learners, including students with mild-to-moderate hearing losses, students with fluctuating hearing losses, and students learning English as a second language. The current study considers the effects of using a sound-field amplification system to improve the attending behaviours of students with and without attending and focusing difficulties. The results indicate a trend toward increased “on-task” time when amplification is used. Student and teacher responses to the use of the system also were found to be favourable.



Les élèves au primaire consacrent une partie importante de leur journée scolaire à des activités d’écoute. L’utilisation de système d’amplification en champ libre est suggéré pour améliorer les conditions d’écoute de plusieurs enfants. On le suggère aux enfants qui présentent des pertes auditives légères, moyennes ou fluctuantes, de même qu’à ceux qui apprennent l’anglais comme langue seconde. La présente étude porte sur les effets de l’ utilisation de système d’amplification en champ libre sur le comportement d’ écoute des élèves qu’ils présentent ou non des problèmes d’audition ou de concentration. Les résultats indiquent qu’avec l’utilisation de système d’amplificationen champ libre, le temps consacré aux tâches a tendance à augmenter. Par ailleurs, les élèves et les enseignants réagissent positivement à l’utilisation de tels systèmes.
ID 29
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2001_JSLPA_Vol_25/No_03_125-172/Cornwell_Evans_JSLPA_2001.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.