Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Generalization of /s/ from English to French as a result of phonological remediation

 
Author(s) James C McNutt, PhD
Volume 18
Number 2
Year 1994
Page(s) 109-114
Language English
Category
Keywords bilingual
generalization
speech
/s/
production
Abstract French and English speaking children have been observed who have problems with /s/ production in both languages. The purpose of this investigation was to determine if therapy presented in English and directed towards the /s/ production problem in English, would generalize and result in similar changes for /s/ in French. In this investigation all seven children who received a motor based therapy program for /s/, generalized /s/ from English into French on a variety of levels. These findings may be taken to indicate the strength of generalization for certain procedures directed toward remediation of /s/. Information from this investigation is useful in determining services for children with phonology disorders and examining the effect of linguistic differences upon generalization between languages.

On a observé des enfants qui parlent le frainçais et l'anglais, et qui ont de la difficulté à prononcer le /s/ dans les dwux langues, pour déterminer si une thérapie prodifuée en anglais en vue de corriger le probléme de prononciation dans cette langue se généraliserait et entraînerait une amélioration comparable en français. Les sept enfants qui ont suivi un programme thérapeutique de type moteur pour le /s/ ont généralisation pour certaines méthodes orthopédagogiques visant à corriger la prononciation du /s/. La présente étude fournit des données utiles pour déterminer les services à offrir aux enfants atteints de troubles phonologiques et examiner l'effet des différences linguistiques sur la généralisation d'une langue à l'autre.
Record ID 262
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_02_78-144/McNutt_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Generalization of /s/ from English to French as a result of phonological remediation

 
Auteur(s) James C McNutt, PhD
Volume 18
Nombre 2
Année 1994
Page(s) 109-114
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés bilingual
generalization
speech
/s/
production
Abrégé French and English speaking children have been observed who have problems with /s/ production in both languages. The purpose of this investigation was to determine if therapy presented in English and directed towards the /s/ production problem in English, would generalize and result in similar changes for /s/ in French. In this investigation all seven children who received a motor based therapy program for /s/, generalized /s/ from English into French on a variety of levels. These findings may be taken to indicate the strength of generalization for certain procedures directed toward remediation of /s/. Information from this investigation is useful in determining services for children with phonology disorders and examining the effect of linguistic differences upon generalization between languages.

On a observé des enfants qui parlent le frainçais et l'anglais, et qui ont de la difficulté à prononcer le /s/ dans les dwux langues, pour déterminer si une thérapie prodifuée en anglais en vue de corriger le probléme de prononciation dans cette langue se généraliserait et entraînerait une amélioration comparable en français. Les sept enfants qui ont suivi un programme thérapeutique de type moteur pour le /s/ ont généralisation pour certaines méthodes orthopédagogiques visant à corriger la prononciation du /s/. La présente étude fournit des données utiles pour déterminer les services à offrir aux enfants atteints de troubles phonologiques et examiner l'effet des différences linguistiques sur la généralisation d'une langue à l'autre.
ID 262
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_02_78-144/McNutt_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.