Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Hard-of-Hearing Inmates in Penitentiaries

 
Author(s) Marilyn Dahl, PhD
Volume 18
Number 4
Year 1994
Page(s) 271-277
Language English
Category
Keywords disability
hearing
prison
Abstract Inmates of penitentiaries become socialized to prison subculture and its behaviour system. Staff have their own behaviour system, which intersects with, and holds power over, the inmate subculture. Inmate behaviours are interpreted and defined by staff in the context of the prison culture. Such definitions influence the rate (lack) of progress of an inmate through the system. This paper reports on a study of inmates of federal prisons in British Columbia. A high percentage of previously unidentified hearing impairment was found in inmates, coupled with a high level of unawareness of the condition by staff. Behaviours typical of a hard-of-hearing person tend to be interpreted negatively by staff, resulting in adverse consequences for inmates in one-to-one interactions and group programs. The broad scope of difficulties and suggested approaches to addressing problems will be presented.


Les détenus se fondent graduellement au milieu carcéral et à ses règles de conduite. Le personnel a également son propre système de règles qui entrecoupe avec et donne main haute sur celui des détenus. Les comportements des détenus sont définis et interprétés par le personnel dans le contexte d'une culture carcérale. De telles définitions influencent le taux (ou l'absence) de progrès d'un détenu dans ce système. L'étude présentée ici révèle un pourcentage élevé de personnes malentendantes jusqu'alors non-identifiées dans les pénitenciers fédéraux de la Colombie-Britannique. A ces chiffres, it faut ajouter le manque presque total de sensibilisation du personnel à cette situation. Le comportement typique des personnes malentendantes est, en général, interprété négativement par le personnel, d'où des conséquences néfastes pour les détenus, que ce soit en face à face ou en groupe. L'envergure des difficultés rencontrées et quelques-unes des solutions qui peuvent être envisagées seront discutées.
Record ID 252
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Dahl_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Hard-of-Hearing Inmates in Penitentiaries

 
Auteur(s) Marilyn Dahl, PhD
Volume 18
Nombre 4
Année 1994
Page(s) 271-277
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés disability
hearing
prison
Abrégé Inmates of penitentiaries become socialized to prison subculture and its behaviour system. Staff have their own behaviour system, which intersects with, and holds power over, the inmate subculture. Inmate behaviours are interpreted and defined by staff in the context of the prison culture. Such definitions influence the rate (lack) of progress of an inmate through the system. This paper reports on a study of inmates of federal prisons in British Columbia. A high percentage of previously unidentified hearing impairment was found in inmates, coupled with a high level of unawareness of the condition by staff. Behaviours typical of a hard-of-hearing person tend to be interpreted negatively by staff, resulting in adverse consequences for inmates in one-to-one interactions and group programs. The broad scope of difficulties and suggested approaches to addressing problems will be presented.


Les détenus se fondent graduellement au milieu carcéral et à ses règles de conduite. Le personnel a également son propre système de règles qui entrecoupe avec et donne main haute sur celui des détenus. Les comportements des détenus sont définis et interprétés par le personnel dans le contexte d'une culture carcérale. De telles définitions influencent le taux (ou l'absence) de progrès d'un détenu dans ce système. L'étude présentée ici révèle un pourcentage élevé de personnes malentendantes jusqu'alors non-identifiées dans les pénitenciers fédéraux de la Colombie-Britannique. A ces chiffres, it faut ajouter le manque presque total de sensibilisation du personnel à cette situation. Le comportement typique des personnes malentendantes est, en général, interprété négativement par le personnel, d'où des conséquences néfastes pour les détenus, que ce soit en face à face ou en groupe. L'envergure des difficultés rencontrées et quelques-unes des solutions qui peuvent être envisagées seront discutées.
ID 252
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Dahl_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.