Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Introduction to the Special Issue on the Psycho-social Impact of Hearing Loss in Everyday Life

 
Author(s) Kathleen Pichora-Fuller, PhD
Volume 18
Number 4
Year 1994
Page(s) 209-211
Language English
Category
Keywords disability
hearing
psycho-social
handicap
psychosocial
Abstract The goal of the symposium was to explore how an anthropological framework might facilitate a more coherent view of the handicapping effects of hearing loss. The symposium assembled a range of information and opinions about the everyday experiences of hard-of-hearing persons. The presenters included hard-of-hearing individuals and researchers from a variety of disciplines ( sociology, linguistics, psychology, audiology, nursing, and engineering ) who have a converging interest in understanding the psycho-social ramifications of hearing loss. We attempted to arrive at a new framework through juxtaposition and discussion of ideas. There were two sessions: the first explored factors that modulate handicap in the hard of hearing, including personal, institutional, and environmental factors; the second presented the experiences of specific groups of hard-of-hearing persons.


Le but de ce symposium était d'examiner dans quelle mesure une perspective anthropologique pourrait mener à une vue plus cohérente des conséquences néfastes d'une perte d'audition. Le symposium a réuni une gamme de renseignements et d'opinions sur les expériences quotidiennes des personnes malentendantes. Parmi les conférenciers, on retrouvait des personnes malentendantes et des chercheurs de disciplines aussi diverses que la sociologie, la linguistique, la psychologie, l'audiologie, les soins aux malades et l'ingénierie don’t les intérêts convergent vers une compréhension des ramifications psychosociales de la perte de l'audition. Nous avons tenté d'arriver à une nouvelle perspective par la juxtaposition et la discussion des idées. Ce symposium comprenait deux sessions : la première explorait les facteurs qui influent sur le handicap des personnes malentendantes, que ce soient des facteurs personnels, institutionnels, ou environnementaux; la seconde présentait les expériences de groupes spécifiques de personnes malentendantes.
Record ID 242
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Pichora-Fuller_JSLPA_1994_Introduction.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Introduction to the Special Issue on the Psycho-social Impact of Hearing Loss in Everyday Life

 
Auteur(s) Kathleen Pichora-Fuller, PhD
Volume 18
Nombre 4
Année 1994
Page(s) 209-211
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés disability
hearing
psycho-social
handicap
psychosocial
Abrégé The goal of the symposium was to explore how an anthropological framework might facilitate a more coherent view of the handicapping effects of hearing loss. The symposium assembled a range of information and opinions about the everyday experiences of hard-of-hearing persons. The presenters included hard-of-hearing individuals and researchers from a variety of disciplines ( sociology, linguistics, psychology, audiology, nursing, and engineering ) who have a converging interest in understanding the psycho-social ramifications of hearing loss. We attempted to arrive at a new framework through juxtaposition and discussion of ideas. There were two sessions: the first explored factors that modulate handicap in the hard of hearing, including personal, institutional, and environmental factors; the second presented the experiences of specific groups of hard-of-hearing persons.


Le but de ce symposium était d'examiner dans quelle mesure une perspective anthropologique pourrait mener à une vue plus cohérente des conséquences néfastes d'une perte d'audition. Le symposium a réuni une gamme de renseignements et d'opinions sur les expériences quotidiennes des personnes malentendantes. Parmi les conférenciers, on retrouvait des personnes malentendantes et des chercheurs de disciplines aussi diverses que la sociologie, la linguistique, la psychologie, l'audiologie, les soins aux malades et l'ingénierie don’t les intérêts convergent vers une compréhension des ramifications psychosociales de la perte de l'audition. Nous avons tenté d'arriver à une nouvelle perspective par la juxtaposition et la discussion des idées. Ce symposium comprenait deux sessions : la première explorait les facteurs qui influent sur le handicap des personnes malentendantes, que ce soient des facteurs personnels, institutionnels, ou environnementaux; la seconde présentait les expériences de groupes spécifiques de personnes malentendantes.
ID 242
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Pichora-Fuller_JSLPA_1994_Introduction.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.