Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Diagnosing Apraxia of Speech on the Basis of Eight Distinctive Signs

 
Author(s) Roel Jonkers
Judith Feiken
Ilse Stuive
Volume 41
Number 3
Year 2017
Page(s) 303-319
Language English
Category Research Article
Keywords apraxia
speech
diagnosis
specific
signs
Abstract This paper reports the results of a study on the use of a fixed number of specific signs to differentially diagnose Apraxia of Speech (AoS) from aphasia or dysarthria. This was done with a diagnostic instrument for AoS that was developed in the Netherlands in 2012, the Diagnostic Instrument for Apraxia of Speech (DIAS; Feiken & Jonkers, 2012). There were 8 signs identified as specific to AoS, namely: inconsistency of errors, number of errors with consonants versus vowels, difference between sequencing and alternating diadochokinesis, groping, initiation problems, syllable segmentation, cluster segmentation, and articulatory complexity. The DIAS was administered to 30 individuals with AoS, 10 individuals with aphasia, 10 individuals with dysarthria, and 35 control individuals. Results showed that a differential diagnosis could be made in 88% of the cases using a minimum of 3 out of 8 specific signs of AoS as criteria. With the exception of 2 patients with aphasia, no other group exhibited the presence of 3 or more signs of AoS. It was concluded that the presence of 3 signs is sufficient to differentially diagnose AoS from aphasia and dysarthria, despite the fact that there is a large amount of variability in the presence of signs of AoS itself in the different individuals.

Cet article présente les résultats d’une étude investiguant l’utilisation d’un nombre spécifique de signes pour distinguer l’apraxie de la parole de l’aphasie ou de la dysarthrie dans un processus de diagnostic différentiel. Pour ce faire, un test d’évaluation de l’apraxie de la parole ayant été développé aux Pays-Bas en 2012, soit le Diagnostic Instrument for Apraxia of Speech (DIAS; Feiken et Jonkers, 2012), a été utilisé. Huit signes ont été identifiés comme étant spécifiques à l’apraxie de la parole : inconstance des erreurs, nombre d’erreurs sur les consonnes versus les voyelles, différence entre les séries diadococinésiques en séquence et en alternance, tâtonnement, problèmes d’initiation, segmentation des syllabes, segmentation des groupes consonantiques et complexité articulatoire. Le DIAS a été administré à 30 participants ayant une apraxie de la parole, 10 participants ayant une aphasie, 10 participants ayant une dysarthrie et 35 participants formant un groupe contrôle. Les résultats ont montré qu’un diagnostic différentiel de l’apraxie de la parole peut être effectué dans 88% des cas en utilisant un minimum de trois critères sur huit. Aucun participant inclus dans les autres groupes expérimentaux n’a été identifié avec un minimum de trois signes spécifiques à l’apraxie de la parole, à l’exception de deux participants ayant une aphasie. La présence de trois signes spécifiques a ainsi été jugée suffisant pour distinguer l’apraxie de la parole de l’aphasie ou de la dysarthrie, et ce, malgré le fait qu’il existe une grande variabilité dans les signes observés au sein des individus ayant une apraxie de la parole.
Record ID 1219
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_03/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_3_2017_Jonkers_et_al_303_319.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Diagnostiquer l’apraxie de la parole en se basant sur huit signes distinctifs

 
Auteur(s) Roel Jonkers
Judith Feiken
Ilse Stuive
Volume 41
Nombre 3
Année 2017
Page(s) 303-319
Langue Anglais
Catégorie Article de recherche
Mots-clés apraxia
speech
diagnosis
specific
signs
Abrégé This paper reports the results of a study on the use of a fixed number of specific signs to differentially diagnose Apraxia of Speech (AoS) from aphasia or dysarthria. This was done with a diagnostic instrument for AoS that was developed in the Netherlands in 2012, the Diagnostic Instrument for Apraxia of Speech (DIAS; Feiken & Jonkers, 2012). There were 8 signs identified as specific to AoS, namely: inconsistency of errors, number of errors with consonants versus vowels, difference between sequencing and alternating diadochokinesis, groping, initiation problems, syllable segmentation, cluster segmentation, and articulatory complexity. The DIAS was administered to 30 individuals with AoS, 10 individuals with aphasia, 10 individuals with dysarthria, and 35 control individuals. Results showed that a differential diagnosis could be made in 88% of the cases using a minimum of 3 out of 8 specific signs of AoS as criteria. With the exception of 2 patients with aphasia, no other group exhibited the presence of 3 or more signs of AoS. It was concluded that the presence of 3 signs is sufficient to differentially diagnose AoS from aphasia and dysarthria, despite the fact that there is a large amount of variability in the presence of signs of AoS itself in the different individuals.

Cet article présente les résultats d’une étude investiguant l’utilisation d’un nombre spécifique de signes pour distinguer l’apraxie de la parole de l’aphasie ou de la dysarthrie dans un processus de diagnostic différentiel. Pour ce faire, un test d’évaluation de l’apraxie de la parole ayant été développé aux Pays-Bas en 2012, soit le Diagnostic Instrument for Apraxia of Speech (DIAS; Feiken et Jonkers, 2012), a été utilisé. Huit signes ont été identifiés comme étant spécifiques à l’apraxie de la parole : inconstance des erreurs, nombre d’erreurs sur les consonnes versus les voyelles, différence entre les séries diadococinésiques en séquence et en alternance, tâtonnement, problèmes d’initiation, segmentation des syllabes, segmentation des groupes consonantiques et complexité articulatoire. Le DIAS a été administré à 30 participants ayant une apraxie de la parole, 10 participants ayant une aphasie, 10 participants ayant une dysarthrie et 35 participants formant un groupe contrôle. Les résultats ont montré qu’un diagnostic différentiel de l’apraxie de la parole peut être effectué dans 88% des cas en utilisant un minimum de trois critères sur huit. Aucun participant inclus dans les autres groupes expérimentaux n’a été identifié avec un minimum de trois signes spécifiques à l’apraxie de la parole, à l’exception de deux participants ayant une aphasie. La présence de trois signes spécifiques a ainsi été jugée suffisant pour distinguer l’apraxie de la parole de l’aphasie ou de la dysarthrie, et ce, malgré le fait qu’il existe une grande variabilité dans les signes observés au sein des individus ayant une apraxie de la parole.
ID 1219
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_03/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_3_2017_Jonkers_et_al_303_319.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.