Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Using Standard and Asymmetric Confidence Intervals

 
Author(s) Christopher Lee, PhD
Volume 39
Number 3
Year 2015
Page(s) 298-303
Language English
Category
Keywords confidence
interval
measurement
error
consistency
coefficient
agreement
Abstract All assessment procedures are affected by measurement errors that alter the score obtained by a client. The particular score obtained by a client is one score within a hypothetical family of scores, each score in this family differing from the others as a result of measurement error. A confidence interval describes this family of scores by placing an error band around a client score. This paper describes the calculation of a consistency coefficient, an agreement coefficient, and the role of these coefficients in calculation of a confidence interval. The working example is an inter-rater situation in which ratings of speech intelligibility are made by two speech-language pathologists. However, a confidence interval can be used in a variety of other situations in which the comparability of scores is an issue. Spreadsheet software is shown to be a practical method of performing these calculations.

Toutes les procédures d’évaluation sont affectées par des erreurs de mesure qui changent le résultat obtenu par le client. Le résultat particulier obtenu par le client n’est qu’un résultat parmi une famille hypothétique de résultats; chaque résultat, dans cette famille, diffère des autres à cause d’une erreur de mesure. Un intervalle de confiance décrit cette famille de résultats en plaçant une marge d’erreur autour du résultat du client. Cet article décrit le calcul d’un coefficient de consistance et d’un coefficient d’accord ainsi que le rôle de ces coefficients dans le calcul d’un intervalle de confiance. L’exemple fourni est une situation inter évaluateurs où deux orthophonistes évaluent l’intelligibilité de la parole. Toutefois, un intervalle de confiance peut être utilisé dans plusieurs autres situations où la comparabilité des résultats peut être problématique. Un logiciel de tableurs s’avère être une méthode pratique pour effectuer ces calculs.
Record ID 1182
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2015_CJSLPA_Vol_39/No_03/Paper_4_CJSLPA_Fall_2015_Vol_39_No_3_Lee.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Utilisation d’intervalles de confiance standards et asymétriques

 
Auteur(s) Christopher Lee, PhD
Volume 39
Nombre 3
Année 2015
Page(s) 298-303
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés confidence
interval
measurement
error
consistency
coefficient
agreement
Abrégé All assessment procedures are affected by measurement errors that alter the score obtained by a client. The particular score obtained by a client is one score within a hypothetical family of scores, each score in this family differing from the others as a result of measurement error. A confidence interval describes this family of scores by placing an error band around a client score. This paper describes the calculation of a consistency coefficient, an agreement coefficient, and the role of these coefficients in calculation of a confidence interval. The working example is an inter-rater situation in which ratings of speech intelligibility are made by two speech-language pathologists. However, a confidence interval can be used in a variety of other situations in which the comparability of scores is an issue. Spreadsheet software is shown to be a practical method of performing these calculations.

Toutes les procédures d’évaluation sont affectées par des erreurs de mesure qui changent le résultat obtenu par le client. Le résultat particulier obtenu par le client n’est qu’un résultat parmi une famille hypothétique de résultats; chaque résultat, dans cette famille, diffère des autres à cause d’une erreur de mesure. Un intervalle de confiance décrit cette famille de résultats en plaçant une marge d’erreur autour du résultat du client. Cet article décrit le calcul d’un coefficient de consistance et d’un coefficient d’accord ainsi que le rôle de ces coefficients dans le calcul d’un intervalle de confiance. L’exemple fourni est une situation inter évaluateurs où deux orthophonistes évaluent l’intelligibilité de la parole. Toutefois, un intervalle de confiance peut être utilisé dans plusieurs autres situations où la comparabilité des résultats peut être problématique. Un logiciel de tableurs s’avère être une méthode pratique pour effectuer ces calculs.
ID 1182
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2015_CJSLPA_Vol_39/No_03/Paper_4_CJSLPA_Fall_2015_Vol_39_No_3_Lee.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.