Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Stability and Usefulnes of Language Test Results Under Two Years of Age

 
Author(s) Tibie Rome-Flanders, PhD
Carolyn Cronk, MA, MOA
Volume 22
Number 2
Year 1998
Page(s) 74-80
Language English
Category
Keywords language
test
testing
infancy
predictive
Abstract In recent years there has been a marked trend towards diagnosis and treatment of speech and language disorders at the earliest possible age. There are, however, numerous difficulties which arise in testing infants and young children. This article addresses one aspect of these difficulties: it attempts to determine at what age formal measurement of infant linguistic abilities begins to be reliable. The linguistic abilities of 25 normally developing infants were tested at six points during their first two years of life using a familiar, standardised language test. Results across the various ages were analysed in order to determine whether and at what age there is some stability in infant test results. Stability over time was demonstrated for a parent-report instrument (REEL) from nine months on. Results of this parent-report instrument from 15 months on also correlated with direct language testing results at 24 months (Reynell Developmental Language Scales). Further, the comparisons of ranks showed significant correlations between the receptive and expressive scales from nine months on.



Depuis quelques années, il existe une forte tendance vers le diagnostic et le traitement des troubles du langage et de parole au stade le plus précoce possible. Il existe cependant bon nombre de difficultés pour ce qui est du dépistage chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants. Le présent article étudie un aspect de ces difficultés : à quel âge la mesure formelle des habiletés linguistiques de l'enfant commence-t-elle à être fiable? On a évalué les habiletés linguistiques de 25 nourrisons au développement normal à six moments au cours de leurs deux premières années en utilisant un test de langage normalisé courant. On a ensuite analysé les résultats obtenus chez les divers groupes d'âge afin d'établir s'il y avait une stabilité quelconque et, si oui, à quel âge. On a pu démontrer une stabilité temporelle, avec un instrument comportant des comptes rendus de parents (REEL), à partir de l'âge de neuf mois. Les résultats obtenus avec ce type d'instrument chez les enfants de 15 mois et plus ont également correspondu aux résultats des évaluations directes du langage à 24 mois (Reynell Developmental Language Scales). De plus, les comparaisons de rangs ont relevé d'importantes corrélations entre les échelles de compréhension et d'expression à partir de l'âge de neuf mois.
Record ID 110
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_02_57-121/Rome-Flanders_Cronk_JSLPA_1998.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Stability and Usefulnes of Language Test Results Under Two Years of Age

 
Auteur(s) Tibie Rome-Flanders, PhD
Carolyn Cronk, MA, MOA
Volume 22
Nombre 2
Année 1998
Page(s) 74-80
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés language
test
testing
infancy
predictive
Abrégé In recent years there has been a marked trend towards diagnosis and treatment of speech and language disorders at the earliest possible age. There are, however, numerous difficulties which arise in testing infants and young children. This article addresses one aspect of these difficulties: it attempts to determine at what age formal measurement of infant linguistic abilities begins to be reliable. The linguistic abilities of 25 normally developing infants were tested at six points during their first two years of life using a familiar, standardised language test. Results across the various ages were analysed in order to determine whether and at what age there is some stability in infant test results. Stability over time was demonstrated for a parent-report instrument (REEL) from nine months on. Results of this parent-report instrument from 15 months on also correlated with direct language testing results at 24 months (Reynell Developmental Language Scales). Further, the comparisons of ranks showed significant correlations between the receptive and expressive scales from nine months on.



Depuis quelques années, il existe une forte tendance vers le diagnostic et le traitement des troubles du langage et de parole au stade le plus précoce possible. Il existe cependant bon nombre de difficultés pour ce qui est du dépistage chez les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants. Le présent article étudie un aspect de ces difficultés : à quel âge la mesure formelle des habiletés linguistiques de l'enfant commence-t-elle à être fiable? On a évalué les habiletés linguistiques de 25 nourrisons au développement normal à six moments au cours de leurs deux premières années en utilisant un test de langage normalisé courant. On a ensuite analysé les résultats obtenus chez les divers groupes d'âge afin d'établir s'il y avait une stabilité quelconque et, si oui, à quel âge. On a pu démontrer une stabilité temporelle, avec un instrument comportant des comptes rendus de parents (REEL), à partir de l'âge de neuf mois. Les résultats obtenus avec ce type d'instrument chez les enfants de 15 mois et plus ont également correspondu aux résultats des évaluations directes du langage à 24 mois (Reynell Developmental Language Scales). De plus, les comparaisons de rangs ont relevé d'importantes corrélations entre les échelles de compréhension et d'expression à partir de l'âge de neuf mois.
ID 110
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_02_57-121/Rome-Flanders_Cronk_JSLPA_1998.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.