Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Developing Phonological Awareness Skills in Children with Down Syndrome

 
Author(s) Patricia L. Cleave
Elizabeth Kay-Raining Bird
Derrick C. Bourassa
Volume 35
Number 4
Year 2011
Page(s) 332-243
Language English
Category
Keywords DOWN

LITERACY LANGUAGE
Abstract The response of children with Down syndrome (DS) to a program focusing on phonological awareness (PA) skills is reported. Seventeen children with DS were randomly assigned to the PA program or to an alternate program. The program involved individual twice weekly 30-minute sessions for 22 weeks. Rhyming and initial and final phoneme identification were targeted. A significant treatment effect for phoneme identification in final position was found with a large effect size. Phonological awareness skills are particularly challenging for children with DS. The results suggest that it is possible to teach phonological awareness skills to children with DS with a focused intervention program.

Cette étude porte sur la réaction d’enfants avec le syndrome de Down à un programme portant sur les habiletés de conscience phonologique. Dix-sept enfants avec le syndrome de Down ont été répartis aléatoirement en deux groupes, soit un qui a reçu le programme de conscience phonologique, et l’autre, un programme alterne. Le programme ciblé consistait en des sessions individuelles de 30 minutes deux fois par semaine pour une durée de 22 semaines. Les buts ciblés étaient les rimes et l’identification du phonème initial et final. Nous avons trouvé un effet de traitement significatif et une grande ampleur d’effet pour l’identification des phonèmes en fin de mot. Les habiletés de conscience phonologique sont particulièrement difficiles pour les enfants avec le syndrome de Down. Les résultats suggèrent qu’il est possible d’enseigner ces habiletés aux enfants avec le syndrome de Down grâce à un programme d’intervention ciblé.
Record ID 1084
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_04_277-371/Cleave_Kay-Raining-Bird_Bourassa_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Developing Phonological Awareness Skills in Children with Down Syndrome

 
Auteur(s) Patricia L. Cleave
Elizabeth Kay-Raining Bird
Derrick C. Bourassa
Volume 35
Nombre 4
Année 2011
Page(s) 332-243
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés DOWN

LITERACY LANGUAGE
Abrégé The response of children with Down syndrome (DS) to a program focusing on phonological awareness (PA) skills is reported. Seventeen children with DS were randomly assigned to the PA program or to an alternate program. The program involved individual twice weekly 30-minute sessions for 22 weeks. Rhyming and initial and final phoneme identification were targeted. A significant treatment effect for phoneme identification in final position was found with a large effect size. Phonological awareness skills are particularly challenging for children with DS. The results suggest that it is possible to teach phonological awareness skills to children with DS with a focused intervention program.

Cette étude porte sur la réaction d’enfants avec le syndrome de Down à un programme portant sur les habiletés de conscience phonologique. Dix-sept enfants avec le syndrome de Down ont été répartis aléatoirement en deux groupes, soit un qui a reçu le programme de conscience phonologique, et l’autre, un programme alterne. Le programme ciblé consistait en des sessions individuelles de 30 minutes deux fois par semaine pour une durée de 22 semaines. Les buts ciblés étaient les rimes et l’identification du phonème initial et final. Nous avons trouvé un effet de traitement significatif et une grande ampleur d’effet pour l’identification des phonèmes en fin de mot. Les habiletés de conscience phonologique sont particulièrement difficiles pour les enfants avec le syndrome de Down. Les résultats suggèrent qu’il est possible d’enseigner ces habiletés aux enfants avec le syndrome de Down grâce à un programme d’intervention ciblé.
ID 1084
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_04_277-371/Cleave_Kay-Raining-Bird_Bourassa_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.