Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Emergent Literacy Skills of Preschoolers with Language Disorders: Monolingual English versus Dual Language Learners

 
Author(s) Jessica Lamont
Luigi Girolametto
Carla J. Johnson
Xi Chen
Patricia L. Cleave
Volume 35
Number 4
Year 2011
Page(s) 286-299
Language English
Category
Keywords EMERGENT
LITERACY INTERVENTION CHILDREN
WITH
SLI ENGLISH
LANGUAGE LEARNERS
Abstract This exploratory study investigated parental report and direct measures of children’s emergent literacy skills. The participants were 16 families of children with specific language impairment, of whom nine were dual language learners. All children were, on average, 51 months of age and had normal sensory, socio-emotional, and nonverbal cognitive skills. The dual language learners were English dominant and had been exposed to English for an average of two years. The children participated in three standardized tests of emergent literacy skills, which included print knowledge, phonological awareness, and narrative production. Parents completed an early literacy questionnaire asking for information about their children’s literacy skills and their own facilitative practices. There were no significant differences between the monolingual and dual language learning groups on any formal or informal measures of emergent literacy. Parents’ ratings on five categories of the early literacy questionnaire were significantly and positively correlated with the standardized measures of emergent literacy. The results provide preliminary indications for the usefulness of an early literacy parent questionnaire in assessment protocols for preschoolers with language impairment.

Cette étude exploratoire a utilisé des rapports de parents et des mesures directes pour examiner les habiletés de littératie émergente d’enfants. Les participants étaient 16 familles d’enfants avec un trouble du langage, don’t neuf apprenaient deux langues. Les enfants avaient en moyenne 51 mois et des capacités sensorielles, socio-émotionnelles et cognitives non-verbales normales. Les enfants bilingues étaient dominants en anglais et avaient été exposés à l’anglais depuis en moyenne deux ans. Les enfants ont participé à trois tests standardisés de leurs habiletés de littératie émergente, y compris la connaissance des lettres écrites, la conscience phonologique et la production narrative. Les parents ont rempli un questionnaire sur la littératie précoce, don’t les questions portaient sur les habiletés de leurs enfants et leurs propres pratiques de facilitation. Nous n’avons trouvé aucune différence significative entre les groupes d’enfants unilingues et bilingues lors des mesures formelles ou informelles de la littératie émergente. Les évaluations des parents dans cinq catégories du questionnaire sur la littératie précoce avaient une corrélation significative et positive avec les mesures standardisées de la littératie émergente. Ces résultats fournissent des renseignements préliminaires sur l’utilité d’un questionnaire pour les parents au sujet de la littératie émergente dans le cadre des protocoles d’évaluation des enfants d’âge préscolaire avec un trouble du langage.
Record ID 1081
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_04_277-371/Lamont_Girolametto_Johnson_Chen_Cleave_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Emergent Literacy Skills of Preschoolers with Language Disorders: Monolingual English versus Dual Language Learners

 
Auteur(s) Jessica Lamont
Luigi Girolametto
Carla J. Johnson
Xi Chen
Patricia L. Cleave
Volume 35
Nombre 4
Année 2011
Page(s) 286-299
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés EMERGENT
LITERACY INTERVENTION CHILDREN
WITH
SLI ENGLISH
LANGUAGE LEARNERS
Abrégé This exploratory study investigated parental report and direct measures of children’s emergent literacy skills. The participants were 16 families of children with specific language impairment, of whom nine were dual language learners. All children were, on average, 51 months of age and had normal sensory, socio-emotional, and nonverbal cognitive skills. The dual language learners were English dominant and had been exposed to English for an average of two years. The children participated in three standardized tests of emergent literacy skills, which included print knowledge, phonological awareness, and narrative production. Parents completed an early literacy questionnaire asking for information about their children’s literacy skills and their own facilitative practices. There were no significant differences between the monolingual and dual language learning groups on any formal or informal measures of emergent literacy. Parents’ ratings on five categories of the early literacy questionnaire were significantly and positively correlated with the standardized measures of emergent literacy. The results provide preliminary indications for the usefulness of an early literacy parent questionnaire in assessment protocols for preschoolers with language impairment.

Cette étude exploratoire a utilisé des rapports de parents et des mesures directes pour examiner les habiletés de littératie émergente d’enfants. Les participants étaient 16 familles d’enfants avec un trouble du langage, don’t neuf apprenaient deux langues. Les enfants avaient en moyenne 51 mois et des capacités sensorielles, socio-émotionnelles et cognitives non-verbales normales. Les enfants bilingues étaient dominants en anglais et avaient été exposés à l’anglais depuis en moyenne deux ans. Les enfants ont participé à trois tests standardisés de leurs habiletés de littératie émergente, y compris la connaissance des lettres écrites, la conscience phonologique et la production narrative. Les parents ont rempli un questionnaire sur la littératie précoce, don’t les questions portaient sur les habiletés de leurs enfants et leurs propres pratiques de facilitation. Nous n’avons trouvé aucune différence significative entre les groupes d’enfants unilingues et bilingues lors des mesures formelles ou informelles de la littératie émergente. Les évaluations des parents dans cinq catégories du questionnaire sur la littératie précoce avaient une corrélation significative et positive avec les mesures standardisées de la littératie émergente. Ces résultats fournissent des renseignements préliminaires sur l’utilité d’un questionnaire pour les parents au sujet de la littératie émergente dans le cadre des protocoles d’évaluation des enfants d’âge préscolaire avec un trouble du langage.
ID 1081
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_04_277-371/Lamont_Girolametto_Johnson_Chen_Cleave_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.