Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Temporal Processing Performance, Reading Performance, and Auditory Processing Disorder in Learning-Impaired Children and Controls

 
Author(s) Kerry M.M. Walker
David K. Brown
Carrie Scarff
Charlene Watson
Patricia Muir
Dennis P. Phillips
Volume 35
Number 1
Year 2011
Page(s) 6-17
Language English
Category
Keywords Language
production
processing
load
limited
capacity
dual
task
tradeoffs
and
familiarity
Abstract This paper examines the relations between temporal processing and reading performance by comparing the performance of 38 children with learning impairments (LI) to 32 age-matched, typically developing subjects (controls) on these tasks. Subjects were tested on four auditory and four visual temporal processing tasks, and four language/reading tasks. Subjects in the LI group were also tested for auditory processing disorder (APD). Kruskal-Wallis tests and Spearman correlation coeffi cients were used to evaluate the differences and relations between group test scores (alpha = 0.05, Bonferroni corrected). LI subjects performed more poorly than controls on reading and phonological awareness tasks, as well as on the subset of temporal processing tasks that required the relative timing of two stimulus events. There was a trend for performance on language/reading and several auditory temporal processing tasks to drop from control subjects, to those with LI alone, to those with both APD and LI. Scores on a subset of relative timing tasks were positively correlated with reading scores for controls, but not LI subjects. The results suggest that relative timing judgements of auditory and visual stimuli, rather than the identifi cation of a single, brief stimulus event, may play a key role in reading development.

Cet article examine les liens entre le traitement temporel et la performance en lecture. L’étude compare les résultats de 38 enfants ayant des défi cits d’apprentissage (DA) à ceux de 32 enfants du même âge (témoins) démontrant un développement normal de ces fonctions et compétences. Les sujets ont exécuté quatre exercices portant sur le traitement temporel visuel et quatre exercices portant sur le langage et la lecture. Les sujets du groupe DA ont aussi été testés pour des troubles de traitement auditif (TTA). Les tests Kruskal-Wallis et les coeffi cients de corrélation de Spearman ont été utilisés pour évaluer les différences et les relations entre les résultats des tests du groupe (alpha = 0,05, correction de Bonferroni). Les sujets du groupe DA ont eu des résultats inférieurs à ceux des sujets témoins dans les exercices de lecture et de conscience phonologique, ainsi que dans les exercices de traitement temporel qui nécessitaient la synchronisation de deux stimuli. On a observé une tendance en langage/lecture et dans plusieurs exercices de traitement temporel auditif où les résultats baissaient des sujets témoins, aux sujets avec DA à ceux souffrant de TTA et DA. Les résultats d’une série d’exercices de synchronisation relative étaient positivement en corrélation avec les résultats en lecture chez les sujets témoins, ce qui n’était pas le cas chez les sujets avec DA. Les résultats ont démontré que les analyses de synchronisation relative de stimuli auditifs et visuels pourraient jouer un rôle essentiel dans le développement de la lecture plutôt que l’identifi cation d’un seul stimulus précis.
Record ID 1057
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_01_1-102/walker_brown_scarff_watson_muir_phillips_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Temporal Processing Performance, Reading Performance, and Auditory Processing Disorder in Learning-Impaired Children and Controls

 
Auteur(s) Kerry M.M. Walker
David K. Brown
Carrie Scarff
Charlene Watson
Patricia Muir
Dennis P. Phillips
Volume 35
Nombre 1
Année 2011
Page(s) 6-17
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés Language
production
processing
load
limited
capacity
dual
task
tradeoffs
and
familiarity
Abrégé This paper examines the relations between temporal processing and reading performance by comparing the performance of 38 children with learning impairments (LI) to 32 age-matched, typically developing subjects (controls) on these tasks. Subjects were tested on four auditory and four visual temporal processing tasks, and four language/reading tasks. Subjects in the LI group were also tested for auditory processing disorder (APD). Kruskal-Wallis tests and Spearman correlation coeffi cients were used to evaluate the differences and relations between group test scores (alpha = 0.05, Bonferroni corrected). LI subjects performed more poorly than controls on reading and phonological awareness tasks, as well as on the subset of temporal processing tasks that required the relative timing of two stimulus events. There was a trend for performance on language/reading and several auditory temporal processing tasks to drop from control subjects, to those with LI alone, to those with both APD and LI. Scores on a subset of relative timing tasks were positively correlated with reading scores for controls, but not LI subjects. The results suggest that relative timing judgements of auditory and visual stimuli, rather than the identifi cation of a single, brief stimulus event, may play a key role in reading development.

Cet article examine les liens entre le traitement temporel et la performance en lecture. L’étude compare les résultats de 38 enfants ayant des défi cits d’apprentissage (DA) à ceux de 32 enfants du même âge (témoins) démontrant un développement normal de ces fonctions et compétences. Les sujets ont exécuté quatre exercices portant sur le traitement temporel visuel et quatre exercices portant sur le langage et la lecture. Les sujets du groupe DA ont aussi été testés pour des troubles de traitement auditif (TTA). Les tests Kruskal-Wallis et les coeffi cients de corrélation de Spearman ont été utilisés pour évaluer les différences et les relations entre les résultats des tests du groupe (alpha = 0,05, correction de Bonferroni). Les sujets du groupe DA ont eu des résultats inférieurs à ceux des sujets témoins dans les exercices de lecture et de conscience phonologique, ainsi que dans les exercices de traitement temporel qui nécessitaient la synchronisation de deux stimuli. On a observé une tendance en langage/lecture et dans plusieurs exercices de traitement temporel auditif où les résultats baissaient des sujets témoins, aux sujets avec DA à ceux souffrant de TTA et DA. Les résultats d’une série d’exercices de synchronisation relative étaient positivement en corrélation avec les résultats en lecture chez les sujets témoins, ce qui n’était pas le cas chez les sujets avec DA. Les résultats ont démontré que les analyses de synchronisation relative de stimuli auditifs et visuels pourraient jouer un rôle essentiel dans le développement de la lecture plutôt que l’identifi cation d’un seul stimulus précis.
ID 1057
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_01_1-102/walker_brown_scarff_watson_muir_phillips_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.