Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Nonlinear phonological analysis in assessment of protracted phonological development in Mandarin

 
Author(s) May Bernhardt
Jing Zhao
Volume 34
Number 3
Year 2010
Page(s) 168-180
Language English
Category
Keywords Mandarin
phonological
assessment
disorders
and
speech
sound
Abstract Nonlinear phonological theories have motivated phonological assessment and intervention practices for English for two decades (e.g., Bernhardt & Stoel-Gammon, 1994; Bernhardt & Stemberger, 2000). Such practices focus on all aspects of the phonological system from word structure to segments (phonemes) and features, highlighting and capitalizing on a client’s strengths while addressing his or her needs. The authors and several other international researchers are currently investigating typical and protracted phonological development cross-linguistically, and creating phonological assessment tools for the various languages in the process. The current paper demonstrates a qualitative nonlinear phonological analysis for Mandarin, utilizing data from a Canadian Mandarin-learning child with protracted phonological development.

Les théories sur la phonologie non linéaire sous-tendent les méthodes d’évaluation et d’intervention en anglais depuis deux décennies (p. ex., Bernhardt & Stoel-Gammon, 1994; Bernhardt & Stemberger, 2000). Ces méthodes sont axées sur tous les aspects du système phonologique, de la structure des mots aux segments (phonèmes) et aux traits distinctifs, et mettent en évidence et utilisent les forces d’un client pour cibler ses besoins. Les auteurs et plusieurs autres chercheurs internationaux procèdent actuellement à des études inter-linguistiques sur le développement phonologique typique et les retards du développement phonologique, et créent par le fait même des outils d’évaluation de la phonologie dans diverses langues. Le présent article démontre une analyse qualitative non linéaire de la phonologie en mandarin à l’aide de données recueillies auprès d’un enfant canadien apprenant le mandarin qui a un retard du développement phonologique.
Record ID 1027
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2010_CJSLPA_Vol_34/No_03_153-225/Bernhardt_Zhao_CJSLPA_2010.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Nonlinear phonological analysis in assessment of protracted phonological development in Mandarin

 
Auteur(s) May Bernhardt
Jing Zhao
Volume 34
Nombre 3
Année 2010
Page(s) 168-180
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés Mandarin
phonological
assessment
disorders
and
speech
sound
Abrégé Nonlinear phonological theories have motivated phonological assessment and intervention practices for English for two decades (e.g., Bernhardt & Stoel-Gammon, 1994; Bernhardt & Stemberger, 2000). Such practices focus on all aspects of the phonological system from word structure to segments (phonemes) and features, highlighting and capitalizing on a client’s strengths while addressing his or her needs. The authors and several other international researchers are currently investigating typical and protracted phonological development cross-linguistically, and creating phonological assessment tools for the various languages in the process. The current paper demonstrates a qualitative nonlinear phonological analysis for Mandarin, utilizing data from a Canadian Mandarin-learning child with protracted phonological development.

Les théories sur la phonologie non linéaire sous-tendent les méthodes d’évaluation et d’intervention en anglais depuis deux décennies (p. ex., Bernhardt & Stoel-Gammon, 1994; Bernhardt & Stemberger, 2000). Ces méthodes sont axées sur tous les aspects du système phonologique, de la structure des mots aux segments (phonèmes) et aux traits distinctifs, et mettent en évidence et utilisent les forces d’un client pour cibler ses besoins. Les auteurs et plusieurs autres chercheurs internationaux procèdent actuellement à des études inter-linguistiques sur le développement phonologique typique et les retards du développement phonologique, et créent par le fait même des outils d’évaluation de la phonologie dans diverses langues. Le présent article démontre une analyse qualitative non linéaire de la phonologie en mandarin à l’aide de données recueillies auprès d’un enfant canadien apprenant le mandarin qui a un retard du développement phonologique.
ID 1027
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2010_CJSLPA_Vol_34/No_03_153-225/Bernhardt_Zhao_CJSLPA_2010.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.